Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - ciggy lighter...portable battery solution out there??
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

ciggy lighter...portable battery solution out there??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
picdriver
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:39 am    Post subject: ciggy lighter...portable battery solution out there?? Reply with quote

I drive trucks for a living & a lot of the time the agency will send me on massive multidrops..(with no maps).....of course I get along just fine with the satnav....until I hit a truck with either no..or...knackered 12/24v socket....& the satnav battery don't last the distance.....Just wondered if anyone has come across a battery type gadget which you can plug the satnav (Etc) into??? TIA..Andy
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What charging socket is on your satnav? There are a number of "emergency battery" solutions that can be used to provide external power through round or mini-USB plugs.

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are looking for at least a days power (10 hours) or more I would have a look at the automotive boost start units, some of These Boost Starter packs come equipped with a ciggy socket that you can simply plug the existing nav units charger lead in to. I would expect to get around 15 hours use from a full charge powering a Nuvi - Mike
picdriver
Occasional Visitor