Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - eTrex Legend HELP - HIDE or DISABLE the basemap
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

eTrex Legend HELP - HIDE or DISABLE the basemap

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Handheld GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ppeccin
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 2:57 am    Post subject: eTrex Legend HELP - HIDE or DISABLE the basemap Reply with quote

Hello,

Please help me.
Does anyone know any way to HIDE or DELETE the built in basemap?

I live in Brazil, and the basemap for my region is low-detailed and completely wrong. It's VERY annoying to use the Legend with this map showing!
It's useless to me.

I am not a newbie (I think! :D ), and already tried all of the options and read the entire manual and the Garmin site and tech support. Did not find any help. Even after dowloading other MapSource maps IT IS STILL THERE!

Please help me, I'm desperate. Sad

Apologies for my English.
Thanks,
Paulo

MORE INFO BELOW.

I live in Brazil (state of Sao Paulo), and have recently purchased a Legend.
Started using it, and noticed how low-detailed the basemap is for my region. The problem is not only the lack of detail, the roads are in the WRONG positions.
I've already tried loading some other mapsource maps to the unit, but the problem persists. The basemap is still showing. It's always there! Whenever a drive through a certain road, the track shows completely off the road shown on the basemap! It's very bad....

I see Garmin does not have any product that has the right maps for my region, so I think the only solution is to disable the basemap.

Does any one know a solution to this? Maybe a software update? A non-documented key sequence?