Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TMC Information
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TMC Information
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firstly check the version of software your device is running, tap the sat strength meter and a on the right side of the screen a small pale box will display the version, if its not 6,522 you need to connect the device to the PC and install the software update.

If the above is OK check the connection between the TMC and the car dock, it is a tight fit and requires considerable force to site the connector in the socket.

When you switch the unit on in the car does it report RDS-TMC Receiver connected in text with a black back ground across the top of the display? - If you have tried all of the above a last resort is a reset make sure you know where to poke the pin to reset the device see HERE then try again, or the TMC unit is faulty - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
rushkins
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 05, 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Tamworth

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikelader

Thanks first of all for your quick response. you were right in saying that the TMC lead was not pushed in quite far enough, and i have managed to tune it in. I noticed that it was also trying to tune itself in and therefore am I right in saying it does this until it picks up a TMC signal from one of radio stations broadcasting it.

Once again thanks again and as you can see this was my first posting and I am well impressed. I also have a drive smart system and go on there forum everyday where all there members are also very helpful.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to hear you have it working, the TMC device will auto tune but if you know the local frequency that is transmitting relative to where you are a simple manual tune can prod the device in the right direction - not all the time but it certainly helps - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
tonygamble
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I quote from a msg posted back in November.

"I also discover that the suctionmount that came deliverd with my early deliverd 710 (may 06) have worse (bad) reception compared to the new replacment mount from tomtom (deliverd in Nov 06).
When I open bouth mounts and read on the PCB the first have no rev. marking and the new one is of rev. 10."

The repair contractors for TT have had my traffic receiver for a couple of weeks now. I chased them yesterday and they said they were waiting for a spare part.

Fingers crossed that there is a better PCB and that they are now being supplied to people with the old, and pretty ineffective, ones.

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m623d
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 05, 2005
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any way to tell without opening the thing, what version you have?
_________________
Garmin Emap, Ipaq 2210 with TomTom Navigator 5, TomTom One, Pioneer AVIC-X1R, TomTom 910 (stolen). TomTom 520, TomTom 6100 (Faulty, replaced under warranty), Currently got a TomTom 6200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The revision number is actually on the tiny PCB, so there is no way of finding this information without opening the device, I have never seen the device type via the TomTom screen for example - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ha Ha!

Catch 22.....
You can't prove to TomTom that you've got an old one unless you open it up, but when you do, they can say "Ahh, you've invalidated the guarantee"!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonygamble
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, Andy,

You tell TomTom that it is not working and, after they have given you some advice over the phone, if it still does not work you send it back and they repair/replace it.

Of course you don't open it up.

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin4Jay
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 02, 2005
Posts: 150
Location: Monkton Heathfield, Somerset

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony here is the reply I got from Tom Tom Customer services what do you think I should do?
Cheers


In regards to your query, our second level support team have advised that the Classic FM signal tends to get washed out due to signal interference, and there's not much that can be done short of amplifying the signal. This can be done by a lot of methods (like wiring the TMC receiver to his car antenna), but this is not something we can do anything about at this point in time.

With best regards,

The TomTom Customer Support Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonygamble
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martin,

Wait until they have repaired mine and I'll tell you if it is any better.

They said mine was faulty - not the CFM signal.

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin4Jay
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 02, 2005
Posts: 150
Location: Monkton Heathfield, Somerset

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok Tony Many thanks
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonygamble
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 23, 2007
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martin,

If the problem continues and TT say it is due to their receiver not being able to pick up the information from Classic FM I'll send it back and ask for a refund.

If it was a problem unique to where I live, as used to happen in the early days of cellphones, I'd have to accept the situation and benefit from using the device everywhere else.

However, the reports coming in to this forum indicates that some receivers hardly work anywhere in the UK and that is unacceptable - and TT have no right to charge people for them.

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin4Jay
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 02, 2005
Posts: 150
Location: Monkton Heathfield, Somerset

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks Tony I will do that.
I also got a reply from Classic FM.
Cheers


Good afternoon Mr Dale,

Thank you for your enquiry. I am sorry to advise that there will be no
more expansion of the Classic FM network on FM.

With very best wishes and thank you for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 02, 2005
Posts: 76
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't get all those icons, for example read traffic aloud on my Go 510, does it only show that on the 910?

Also, because I'm subscribed to traffic as well, I find the the device automatically finds your phone as a default, so if your phone is on, and it's not recognising the TMC lead, then that's why. I turn my phone off and then disable traffic, then turn the device off, then turn it on again. It's also been known to not find the TMC lead until I've actually set a route up.

Not sure about all these icons though. I've updated the device and TT home as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some of the icons are related to the Text To Speech (TTS) capability which (as you correctly worked out) will only be made available with the TTS installed to the device - which means Go-910 - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 3 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.094 (28 Sep 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping