Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - tomtom RDS-TMC Traffic
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

tomtom RDS-TMC Traffic
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NAM-UK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 13, 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Atherton lancashire

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

would not suprise me if they made the tmc useless over updates to push the HD traffic ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_Evans
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 04, 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:07 pm    Post subject: Help?? Reply with quote

Last year when i was working at a different company i borrowed a RDS-TMC lead for my go 510 from one of the ladies in the office to try it out. When i plugged it in it worked great with accurate info.
I now work for a different company & i've bought one brand new for myself however all this one does is keep scanning all the time. I had the lead changed as i thought it was faulty however this new one keeps doing the same??
I've even tried it putting it outside my company van in case there's a problem with the windscreen but still to no avail.
I do travel all over the West Mids including the motorway networks-M6, M5, M54 mainly but still nowt!!
My software at present is tom tom home 2.5 on my pc & version 7.903 on my go?
The only thing i've never done is to update my map via tom tom but will that make a difference??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom59
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 407
Location: Alconbury - UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My lead has stopped working completely. I reported it to TomTom and in all fairness, they offered to replace it without any arguments.
Just waiting for the new lead to arrive, then we will see what happens. Smile
_________________
TT Go 720 (T)
Firmware 9.430. Map: Western Europe V 875.3613

TT iPhone app
V 1.23 Map: Western and Central Europe 2 GB V 965.7286

TT iOS Go Mobile
V 1.1 Map: Western Europe 965.7248
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_Evans
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 04, 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emailed tom tom on the website yesterday in relation to my RDS-TMC lead not working. Today i got a reply which i think was really informative. I have tried to post thier comments on here however it keeps coming up that HTML tags are not allowed & to use BBcode instead however i've no idea how to Laughing Out Loud.

Having done what they asked me to my go 510 did start to scan the radio frequencies which it did not do before however it did not pick up a radio station?
I did not drive of my driveway however so i will let you know if it works Laughing Out Loud.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcaouolte
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 998
Location: South Lincs, UK.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look here for a fix. There is a file called mxtc.dat which is downloaded with recent versions of the software for the GO510 which contains incorrect data, this stops the tmc working.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_Evans
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 04, 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pcaouolte wrote:
Have a look here for a fix. There is a file called mxtc.dat which is downloaded with recent versions of the software for the GO510 which contains incorrect data, this stops the tmc working.


I have found the file in the root of my go 510 but i cant read it's contents???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you right click the file while using Windows Explorer and select "Open With" then choose "NotePad" the file should open to reveal its contents, it should read 22220 - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Andy_Evans
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 04, 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
If you right click the file while using Windows Explorer and select "Open With" then choose "NotePad" the file should open to reveal its contents, it should read 22220 - Mike


Laughing Out Loud thanks mike i just figured that one out how stupid of me Laughing Out Loud. didnt know you could do that!
Well i have to be honest i was a little sceptical about pcaouolte's post about fixing the mxtc.dat file however having just done it & then sitting in my van on my driveway to test my go510 i have to say it worked!!!
my RDS-TMC lead picked up 100.1fm in about 10 secs.
the guy is a genius-how stupid of tom tom not to realise something like that so simple could solve the problem!!
i must say that whenever i use this website you guys never fail to amaze me Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcaouolte
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 998
Location: South Lincs, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not a genius Embarassed just like to dabble Very Happy

I read elswhere that the mxtc.dat was something to do with rds-tmc. When my rds-tmc stopped working after a sofware update I checked which files tomtom had updated, one of them was mxtc.dat. Copied the old version from a backup and rds-tmc started working again.

I guess that tomtom have changed the contents of the file to get HD traffic working on newer models. They are providing the new file on x10s with software that only understands the old file.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_Evans
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 04, 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i have to say my RDC-TMC lead now works real fine Very Happy
The signal comes & goes sometimes but i had to go to Warrington last week & it told me of an accident just past knutsford services
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
classy56
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 08, 2006
Posts: 441
Location: Dorset

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andy_Evans wrote:
well i have to say my RDC-TMC lead now works real fine Very Happy
The signal comes & goes sometimes but i had to go to Warrington last week & it told me of an accident just past knutsford services


Isn't that known as a 'gimme' ?
_________________
Tomtom Go730T
App 8.300
Map v815.2003


To old to die young.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mediafriendly
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 15, 2007
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just bought the RDS TMC receiver to go with my 720. Result? Good reception in my front room. No reception in my Ford Mondeo! I have tried various combinations of sticking the aerial vertically or even hanging it out of the door. Nothing. Is my heated windscreen to blame? But then I get perfect TomTom reception so why doesn't it pick up RDS reception?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is your location town/ city name as signal coverage can be an issue in some locations?
The RDS-TMC signal is fed from a different source than the GPS data - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
mediafriendly
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 15, 2007
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in London. Having tried it over the weekend, the signal seems to kick in after about ten minutes. OK for a long drive I suppose.

The slightly more annoying thing, is that the TomTom 720 stops recognising the RDS receiver when I plug it back in. I need to do a soft reset to make it recognise it. Is this usual?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beaconlegal
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 24, 2006
Posts: 77
Location: Worcester, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sometimes find that when I attach my tom tom to the mount, it simply does not realise the TMC-RDS receiver is plugged in. But if I momentarily lift the tomtom off the mount and let it back down, it usually connects. You could try that instead of having to reset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 8 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.103 (20 Oct 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping