Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Phone Solution
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Phone Solution

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
s79
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:16 pm    Post subject: Phone Solution Reply with quote

Total Newb here (hey, we all start off that way right? Embarassed )

Anyway, figured it was best to start here after looking around the forum. Information overkill, but I am sure I am going to find this site useful.

Anyway, I am looking to get a cheap (as cheap as possible - I coulnt find a setup guy for the most basic / cheapest starter kit anywhere) sat nav solution.

I dont at this moment in time need a PDA (since I am saving for a laptop) and I have little need for pocket word etc. I dont want a all-in-one solution as they look a little bulky, and very expensive for my needs. I dont actually do many journeys in to unknown territory, so this is a gaget / a bit of fun.

Unfortuanetly, my Nokia doesnt have GPS or take an SD Card, but I would like suggestions of a cheap phone solution. I do have a few bits and bots that will come in handy.

I have a 256MB SD card already from my digital camera, and can lend a card reader. I can also lend a few types of software (off an IT mate of mine), so I wouldnt immedietly have to pay out for that Twisted Evil .

My bro has a sony erricson K700i which I dont know if this is compatible, but a friend is selling his Nokia 6630 cheap, so I could probably get that to try as I understand that works.

So, after that rather large post, I guess the mail points would be...

1) Whats the cheapest setup for my needs?