Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - X50v And Tomtom 5 Problems
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

X50v And Tomtom 5 Problems
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
biccus1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: X50v And Tomtom 5 Problems Reply with quote

Hi

I have a axim x50v and globalsat bt-338 using tomtom 5 software ver 5.

I did a journey a few weeks ago to the airport 3 hrs driving and 160 miles on the way to the airport the pda froze three times so tomtom was still there but no movement and a soft restart was needed!

On the way back twice the pda went back to the home page showing the menu if i reselected tom tom it would not have my destination there anymore but a palce approx 30 miles away!!

Anyone else had the same problems or anyone know a solution?

shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raptorheli2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 03, 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what version of tomtom are you using? 5 or 5.10?

sounds like the poi problem strikes.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
biccus1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raptorheli2 wrote:
what version of tomtom are you using? 5 or 5.10?

sounds like the poi problem strikes.

cheers


5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Talkingbollox
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 14/10/2002 15:11:34
Posts: 439
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update to version 5.10 and it should resolve the problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
biccus1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Talkingbollox wrote:
Update to version 5.10 and it should resolve the problem


Thanks for that but how do i get the update and how do i use it?

shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raptorheli2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 03, 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

goto tomtoms website and download the update. double click on it and follow the instructions.

be aware though if your using copied software the update won't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
biccus1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok

I have now sorted the update so i now have ver 5.10 but still has the same problem while it is working it is great but it just does not work for long Sad

yesterday i went out only travelling 30 miles i know the way but thought i would test it.

After only 10 miles it crashed went back to the dell axim front page and locked the pda.

did a soft restart restarted tomtom now it wanted to contine my journey to the last place i entered in which was home not the new destination so i reentered it and off we went only 3 miles more and the same thing happens this goes on four more times before i got there.

One the way back i removed the sd card did a soft restart refitted the card we had to go somewhere on the way back which was approx 60 mile trip to get home and it did not crash once.

So toady i used a differant sd card incase i have a fault on the card but the same thing has happened randomally crashes and freezes the pda.

Which makes this dangerous to use as when it crashed i then try to drive and restart it to get back on course.

Does anyone have any ideas with this i have just e-mailed tomtom as if this will not work i would like to get my money back for the software.

shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raptorheli2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 03, 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it sounds like a poi problem.

disable all poi's and try that.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
biccus1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raptorheli2 wrote:
it sounds like a poi problem.

disable all poi's and try that.

cheers


Hi is it enough to disable them in tomtom or should i uninstall them ?

How do i disable all of them in one go?

shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raptorheli2
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 03, 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm not sure how they can be disabled in one go. i never had to do it. shouldn't be too difficult to figure out.

i would disable them to see if it works before un-installing

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
biccus1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok

I have been testing it this weekend with two trips of approx 70 miles each and not one crash!!!!

I did disable all the poi or thought i had i unticked all the boxes but it would still bleep when i was near a speed camera why do you think this is?

shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have probably left the "warn in near POI" check box ticked, I must addmit I thought once the POIs were disabled they would not do anything, if you still get the warnings then thats a big plus point - I will try this on one of my units in the morning on the drive to work - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Royston
Regular Visitor


Joined: 20/05/2003 21:40:29
Posts: 90
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:58 pm    Post subject: Re: X50v And Tomtom 5 Problems Reply with quote

biccus1 wrote:
Hi

I have a axim x50v and globalsat bt-338 using tomtom 5 software ver 5.

I did a journey a few weeks ago to the airport 3 hrs driving and 160 miles on the way to the airport the pda froze three times so tomtom was still there but no movement and a soft restart was needed!

On the way back twice the pda went back to the home page showing the menu if i reselected tom tom it would not have my destination there anymore but a palce approx 30 miles away!!

Anyone else had the same problems or anyone know a solution?



Sounds like PDA overheating...seems common with pda's running Tomtom 5 I am afraid. Processor is having to work extreemly hard here unlike tomtom3 for example.

Ipaq 3870
Polstar Gps



shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
biccus1
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:30 pm    Post subject: Re: X50v And Tomtom 5 Problems Reply with quote

Royston wrote:
biccus1 wrote:
Hi

I have a axim x50v and globalsat bt-338 using tomtom 5 software ver 5.

I did a journey a few weeks ago to the airport 3 hrs driving and 160 miles on the way to the airport the pda froze three times so tomtom was still there but no movement and a soft restart was needed!

On the way back twice the pda went back to the home page showing the menu if i reselected tom tom it would not have my destination there anymore but a palce approx 30 miles away!!

Anyone else had the same problems or anyone know a solution?



Sounds like PDA overheating...seems common with pda's running Tomtom 5 I am afraid. Processor is having to work extreemly hard here unlike tomtom3 for example.

Ipaq 3870
Polstar Gps



shane



If its a overhating problem how come it was fine today with two 1 hr and 45 mins trips yet last week crashed after only 10 mins it must be the poi stuff.



shane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grexy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a x50v and I also can confirm that if you turn off the poi's it won't crash. I didn't have too many problems with it crashing while driving, but if I left the installed poi's ticked when looking at the map it would crash. so just turned the installed poi's off, still have all speed camera's and supermarkets ect, installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.055 (31 May 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping