Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - API for Sleeves or CF cards
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

API for Sleeves or CF cards

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
agorman
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: API for Sleeves or CF cards Reply with quote

I am a researcher working on an application that combines handheld prompting (memory aid) devices for people with cognitive disabilities and web-based monitoring systems for caregivers.

See:

http://www.cs.colorado.edu/~l3d/clever/projects/lifeline.html

http://www.cs.colorado.edu/~l3d/clever/projects/maps.html

I would like to add location data to the application so that caregivers can track the location of their clients. I have been looking into CF cards to attach to our iPaq 3850. I am really not very interested in the software provided with the card, I am more interested in whether they provide an API so that I can access data directly.

I have looked at the TeleType products, but their two solutions are not ideal:

1) I can pay $5,000 a year to license the API to access the receiver directly, but this is too expensive for our research budget

or

2) I can access their mapping software (and location data) with a free developer kit, but I would rather not have their application always running in the background.

Does anyone have any suggestions. I am willing to settle for option 2 described above, but I was hopping that someone could point me to a cleaner solution? Also, we would like to move from the iPaq to a T-Mobile Phone/Pocket PC. Can anyone recommend a solution (I guess a sleeve) for that device?

Thanks,

Andy
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator