Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Trip Computer ?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Trip Computer ?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sooty
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 06, 2005
Posts: 46
Location: Yorkshire (UK)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:01 pm    Post subject: Trip Computer ? Reply with quote

Just wondered if anyone else would like to see a trip computer in TTN5.

Max Speed, Average Speed, Time Moving, Time Stationery, Distance travelled etc. Similar to that offered in the Garmin C320/330.

I know there are third party apps that can do this but I think this would be a useful addition to TTN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diplo
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 112
Location: Liverpool, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, would be nice. Even if TT just created raw data logs then it would let people develop 3rd party solutions to analyse the data. However, I guess at the moment TT's priority is getting their navigation system working reliably and ironing out the bugs Smile
_________________
Medion 95000 | TT3.07 | Kingston 512MB SD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mini1400
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can create the raw logs, I did for a trip from Scotland to Essex - will come in useful as the old bill recon I was doing 87mph on the A14 at Huntington, GPS showed I was doing 75.....

Anyway to get the log, go into the settings on the PDA (not in TOMTOM), select 'System', 'GPS' and there you can record the log. Next step is to start TOMTOM...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nej
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2004
Posts: 454
Location: London, Ingerlund

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought that was only available in Windows Mobile 2005?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iancjc
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 10/02/2003 14:19:44
Posts: 749
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mini1400 wrote:
You can create the raw logs, I did for a trip from Scotland to Essex - will come in useful as the old bill recon I was doing 87mph on the A14 at Huntington, GPS showed I was doing 75.....



not sure how much that will help if you can provide the proof that you were speeding! Out of here

I live near the A14 and I would say it was an achievement to get above 60! (must have been in the middle of the night) Driving

hope you get off.

Ian
_________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
TyTn II (WM6.1) / tomtom one v2
TTN6.03 tomtom 7.xx (one)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mini1400
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
not sure how much that will help if you can provide the proof that you were speeding!


Well, it shows that their mobile camera ws incorrectly calibrated, so their proof is not upholdable in law....

Quote:
I live near the A14 and I would say it was an achievement to get above 60! (must have been in the middle of the night)


Nope, 4pm on a Saturday afternoon :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CJackel492
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 15, 2005
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mini1400 wrote:
You can create the raw logs, I did for a trip from Scotland to Essex - will come in useful as the old bill recon I was doing 87mph on the A14 at Huntington, GPS showed I was doing 75.....

Anyway to get the log, go into the settings on the PDA (not in TOMTOM), select 'System', 'GPS' and there you can record the log. Next step is to start TOMTOM...


Doesn't work in TTN5, did in TTN3 and it's a feature I miss,

Carl,
_________________
Phones - Nokia 9500 + a few others
Nokia 9500 running TTM5 Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
mini1400
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Doesn't work in TTN5, did in TTN3


Hmm, so how am I doing it in TT5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CJackel492
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 15, 2005
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mini1400 wrote:
Quote:
Doesn't work in TTN5, did in TTN3


Hmm, so how am I doing it in TT5?


Tell us!

I'd like to know,

Carl,
_________________
Phones - Nokia 9500 + a few others
Nokia 9500 running TTM5 Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The write log function is part of the GPS utility supplied with TomTom, rather than the main Navigator program. So presumably you can still have the logging if you run Navigator 5 with an older version of the GPS driver.
Is that the answer? If so, what's the prize?
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MartinBrown
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 10, 2005
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The big question is then, how do you load the older GPS driver into TTN5? I would find this feature very useful. I still have my copy of TTN3 and purchased the 'up'grade.

A smaller question is, can it still log even if you haven't set a route?
_________________
HP iPaq rz1710
Tomtom Navigator 5
Wired GPS
________________________________________

Plurality should not be posited without necessity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mini1400
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the old wired GPS on my Mio 338, so it could be the older GPSdriver that's allowing it....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CJackel492
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 15, 2005
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I downgraded to TTN5 it automatically removed TTN3 and the GPS driver,

Sad

Carl,
_________________
Phones - Nokia 9500 + a few others
Nokia 9500 running TTM5 Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
mini1400
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried it again today - doesn't work now Confused
Must have been some glitch in the install of TT5 when I did the upgrade - done a complete reset of the PDA since then and so it's now running the TT5 GPS drivers.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barryd
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Cheshire, England

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm actually doing it a different way, by using GPS Gate as a layer between the GPS unit and TomTom. I bought it to be able to run other GPS apps simultaneously on the Pocket PC, but got GPS NMEA stream logging as a useful bonus, along with some other good features such as that it means my bluetooth connection to the GPS isn't closed when TomTom exits. If paying for another utility isn't an issue, I'd highly recommend it.
_________________
Barry Davies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.013 (19 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping