Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PJM3
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 16/03/2003 14:12:09
Posts: 40
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

I will start by saying I have only purchased the Ipaq for navigation. I had got it set up with GPS Assist to Exit both programmes from a mapped key. However since I cannot get my keyu mapping to work properly in Nav2 It seem sto go into a loop and not let me switch off properly or more to the point easily. What is the correct way to exit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

Providing you run GPSAssist first that opens up TomTom Navgiator, I usually assign button three to the GPSAssist menu, leaving all TomTom buttons at default. I can then hit button three, tap MENU then STOP, and I have GPSAssist setup to close TTN2 when you hit the STOP button. Providing you do it this way, then both will exit.



If you try to close TTN2 whilst GPSAssist is still open, it will go into a loop and restart TTN2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PJM3
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 16/03/2003 14:12:09
Posts: 40
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

Poblem I am having Dave is, despite starting in the order of TT2 first and then GPS Assist I am losing my key mapping as soon as I go to TT2 for the first time. I guess I will just have to wait until GPS Assist is updated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

I saw a thread or two about key mappings being lost. I'm not overly sure why this is, I have two iPAQ's here that I test with, both running TTN2 and GPSAssist, and they work fine when using GPSAssist. I'm only using Button 3 though which I use to navigate to GPSAssist menu button and button 4 to switch to Navigator 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PJM3
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 16/03/2003 14:12:09
Posts: 40
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

Are you setting your keymapping in GPS Assist?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

Yes, this is what I do.



GPSAssist

Set Key 3 to Speed Limit

Set Key 4 to Show Navigator 2



Navigator 2

Set Key 1 to 4 to <Default function>



Pocket PC

In Pocket PC (SETTINGS | BUTTONS)

Set Key 3 to run GPSAssist

Set Key 4 to run Navigator 2



When I press Key 3 whilst in Navigator it comes up with the GPSAssist Speed screen without fail. This is on a 3970 and 3850 iPAQ.



If Navigator 2 hasn't got focus, but another application then I can hit Key 3 and it will then try to run GPSAssist, but as it's already running, it will just switch to the current open version of GPSAssist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PJM3
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 16/03/2003 14:12:09
Posts: 40
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

Thank for that semms to work a treat. Should I switch gpsassist/nav2 off before the bluetooth or after?. I seem to get lock ups after I try to restart after a short break on a journey.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

The way I do it on the 3870 I have is to go into the menu on GPSAssist and use the STOP button which I have assigned to automatically exit TTN2. Once this has exited I usually then switch the BTGPS off and then the iPAQ.   Sometimes I've noticed that when you switch the iPAQ back on, you don't necessarily get Bluetooth connected, so you do need to goto the Today screen and check the BT Manager and turn it on sometimes, but other than that it should be okay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rikk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 03/06/2003 13:13:36
Posts: 1
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

Hi,



First, forgive the dumb questions as I'm new to both IPAQ and GPS Stuff and hope that you will bear with me on this. :-)



I have just bought this ipaq 39000 and have tomtom nav 2 on it. Installed your GPS Camera Software and so far so good.



Now, (this is the dumb question) will this automatically alert me to cameras? Have setup the GPS Settings and just off to test it out. If I make it back....Laughing Out Loud...can you tell me how (unless it does this already) does it show the camera icon and is there a voal alert?



Do I have to start Nav first and GPS second? or does the whole thing just work itself out?



Sorry about all the above and hope you can assist me (no pun intended) as I wish to buy the licence or register it.



Regards



Rik



07884 012 683
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
henrybevan
Occasional Visitor


Joined: 26/07/2003 23:39:48
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: GPSAssist + TTN2 Button Assignments Reply with quote

Hi All



I've just got a copy of GPSA. and think it's great. It's a little unpredictable though - I've set up the buttons as discussed above, but they don't always work. Annoyingly I can't work out when they don't and when they do, but basically, I'm trying to set it up so that HW button 3 goes to the speed limit window.



Sometimes the button will open the Speed Limit settings (yay!), but sometimes it just opens the GPSAssist menu. I would say that one of these outcomes happens every 1 in about 4 or 5. Normally, nothing happens, although I do notice that at the top of the screen, where the currently running program is sometimes displayed, it changes from "TomTom Navigator" to "TomTom Navigator Wa" (with the rest of the word hidden). I had a look in Settings...Memory, and this appears to be another program that's running, with the Wa expanded out to Warning.



Does anyone have any ideas (sorry about the somewhat convoluted question). I guess the first thing is to find out what TomTom Navigator Warning is all about.



Kind regards



Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Other Software All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping