Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Luxury Villa at Watersong Davenport, Orlando, Florida for rent
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - HP Navigator maps in TT3
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

HP Navigator maps in TT3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Galman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 16
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:34 pm    Post subject: HP Navigator maps in TT3 Reply with quote

I have bought the Tomtom HP Navigation Pack for my wife's car and I was quite impressed with it. I have now ordered Tomtom 3 for my car as I need the extra functionality. Can I use the updated maps from the HP pack in Tomtom 3? If so, how do I go about it?
Sorry if this is a stupid question but I am very new to GPS systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not a stupid question.

You can use the same installation procedure - copy the maps to storage card via reader and then insert the storage card into the PDA
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Galman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 16
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that. Do I just copy over everything in the Great britain map folder to the same folder on the card running tomtom 3 or is it just certain files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the complete folder
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Privateer
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 30/12/2002 17:36:20
Posts: 4810
Location: Oxfordshire, England, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isnít there a licensing issue here?

I believe that if you own both products then you can use the new maps in the older Navigator. However I donít know whether youíre allowed to run both systems at the same time if they are both using the newer map data.

I know itís a technicality, but itís best to be aware of these things.

Regards,
_________________
Robert.
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 13.2: iOS CamerAlert v2.0.7
TomTom GO Mobile iOS 2.0.3; TomTom (UK & ROI and Europe) iOS apps v1.29
Garmin Camper 770 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Galman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 16
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks. As soon as my Tomtom 3 kit arrives I shall give it a go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Galman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 16
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Privateer wrote:
Isnít there a licensing issue here?

I believe that if you own both products then you can use the new maps in the older Navigator. However I donít know whether youíre allowed to run both systems at the same time if they are both using the newer map data.

I know itís a technicality, but itís best to be aware of these things.

Regards,


Hmm good point. Now I have a moral dilemma. Mind you it's not as if I am depriving Tomtom of revenue, I have paid for both systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robin2
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 24, 2003
Posts: 1441
Location: Swansea

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If what Lutz suggests works, it is the answer to my dilemma, which I aired in the thread on review comments.
I am very satisfied with TTN3 and dont want to sacrifice some of its features which are missing from Navigator 4. But presumably, when it is launched in Europe I will be offered the upgrade, so all I need do is pay for it and install the new maps onto my SD card over the old using a card reader, leaving the TTN3 installation in my PPC untouched.
Robin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SimonCatlin
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 11, 2004
Posts: 565
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent if the 2004 maps wil run with TTN3.

How about the POI's then as we are discussing this here? Would my POI be overwritten or should I selectively copy the files?
_________________
iPhone5, TomTom, Google maps, Navfree, Viewranger and Apple Maps (ekk)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please be more specific. What POIs?
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Galman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 16
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tomtom 3 kit arrived today, tried the updated maps from my wifes HP Navigation Pack and they work fine. Many thanks Lutz.
Just need to work out what I'm doing with the rest of the software now Smile
The one thing I do prefer on the 2004 software is the street names of roads you are approaching are shown whereas they aren't in TT 3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
18.072 (08 Jul 20)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping