Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - GPS CF Vs BT
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

GPS CF Vs BT
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
andrems
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 12:55 am    Post subject: GPS CF Vs BT Reply with quote

Hi.

I'm new in this GPS and PDA business. I'm planning to buy the new Dell X50v PDA since it has a good processor, CF and SDIO slot and a VGA display which I think it's best for viewing, specially while driving.

But I don't know whether I buy a CF or a BT GPS. I want to use it inside a car, and on foot also.
-CF is good because doesn't need to recharge battery, and it can be always attached to the PDA, but I doubt if will work on my shielded windscreen. (I saw the SDIO Globalsat 501 which has very good sensibility, I wonder if it's worth it).
-BT makes PDA lighter and can be put anywhere in car, but also needs recharging and I don't think it's the best solution for a walk.

Can you experienced users give me some advice on this?

Thanks,

Andre.
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Re: GPS CF Vs BT Reply with quote

andrems wrote:

-BT makes PDA lighter and can be put anywhere in car, but also needs recharging and I don't think it's the best solution for a walk.

Why would BT not be the best solution for a walk? It is much better than CF because it has its own battery, and you can position the receiver better to a sky view.

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
alix776
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote