Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Get Speed Camera Warnings For SatNavs Get Speed Camera Warnings For Android Get Speed Camera Warnings For iPhone
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - My Trusty MaFt-Mobile is no more :'(
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

My Trusty MaFt-Mobile is no more :'(

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Lost Satellite Fix - Off Topic Area
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 13846
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:28 pm    Post subject: My Trusty MaFt-Mobile is no more :'( Reply with quote

Stuck a deposit on a new (to me) car and within 4 hours my MaFt-Mobile completely died...

It's like it had feelings!! Just glad I had a replacement sorted without having to feel pressured or rush into anything.

Now I just need to get a new Brodit Pro-clip and work out how to hide the power lead for the dash cam!!

But what a flippin' nightmare afternoon trying to get me and Miss Mini-MaFt home while Mini-MaFt was at home stressing about our absence :/
_________________
MaFt®
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 4602
Location: West London

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You haven't mentioned the new MaFt-Mobile model.

Maybe someone here has one with hidden wiring.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin 2699 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Nextbase 380GW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 13846
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2013 Focus Titanium. Collecting tomorrow so will have a fiddle with wiring then :D
_________________
MaFt®
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sussamb
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 3842
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good choice, exactly what I have Very Happy
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 13846
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are they easy to hide wiring? I opted for the right side window mount Proclip so need to get power across from the centre to the door frame.

MaFt
_________________
MaFt®
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sussamb
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 3842
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty simple. I have dash cam wiring hidden within the roof and door pillars, can be done without removing the trim. Satnav cable can be taken under the dash then up the door pillar.
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 3842
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing to check, there was a safety recall that replaces coolant reservoir and fits additional wiring etc as there was a danger if coolant level dropped too low of engine damage. Work was done FOC and now gives a warning message if level drops. Worth checking it's been done.
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 13846
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sussamb wrote:
One thing to check, there was a safety recall that replaces coolant reservoir and fits additional wiring etc as there was a danger if coolant level dropped too low of engine damage. Work was done FOC and now gives a warning message if level drops. Worth checking it's been done.


I checked the VIN on the Ford website and there weren't any recalls for this one.

Also, re the wiring - where are your sockets? Mine is between the gearstick and the armrest so it's quite far back and looks a bit messy. I've done alright though just not perfect with some of the leads showing. I'll have a proper fiddle later when a 10ft USB Type C lead arrives so I can try a different route :D
_________________
MaFt®
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sussamb
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 3842
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's also one on mine at the rear of the centre console?

Surprised yours isn't on the list, is it a diesel?

Other option is what I did on my wife's focus which is an older model, tap into the fuse box under the dash.
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 4602
Location: West London

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Piggybacking into the fusebox is the neatest ploy.

You'll need a multimeter to check which fuses become active with ignition positions.

I don't know about Ford but Honda have a dedicated 'Option Connector' which has 5 pins for various jobs when additional equipment is added:

Ignition position 1 & 2
Ignition position 2
Reverse selected
Permanent power
Door opened
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin 2699 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Nextbase 380GW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcaouolte
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 950
Location: South Lincs, UK.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The cabin fuse box is in the passenger footwell behind the glove box. You can piggy back onto fuse 85 if you want switched live. I connected an extra power socket to that fuse using a fuse tap and plugged the dashcam power supply into that.

Then feed the cable under the dash towards the driver door. With the driver door open you can pop off the triangular plastic cover on the side of the dash, pull off the rubber trim from the A pillar and feed the wire up to the dash cam.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Lost Satellite Fix - Off Topic Area All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
16.093 (19 Sep 18)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping