Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Mercedes Garmin Map Pilot SD Card Navigation System
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Mercedes Garmin Map Pilot SD Card Navigation System
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Factory-Fit and In-Dash SatNav Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please let us know the outcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scottief
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scottief wrote:
npr wrote:
AFAIK the 60 days is just for map updates, software updates are unlimited.

So far I can't see any difference from the previous software, the Chinese alerts are still there. Sad



Cheers. I don't have the Chinese characters after I followed the instructions on the other thread.


Still no update option for me!

'Your Garmin MAP PILOT SD card is up to date.
Map: 2017 (V8.0) EUROPE
Software: V8.1, SW 37.15, 17/02.00, E70.2'
[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
npr
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 07, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never had the V8.1 software, went straight from V8.0 to V9.0, so perhaps there's some difference in hardware to account for this. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve3948
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 10, 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
Please let us know the outcome.


So I'm told Live Traffic is only available on the Command Line and not the Audio20 system Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steve3948 wrote:
So I'm told Live Traffic is only available on the Command Line and not the Audio20 system
Is that a fact traceable source or Chinese whispers? Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
npr
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 07, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you identify the Audio20 and Command systems?

I sure it's the Audio20 I have in my B Class and that has tomtom live traffic information.



Having said that, the mercedes me connect store does say:

"Live Traffic is only available with COMAND Online. Unfortunately, this service cannot be offered with Audio20."

Typical mercedes confusion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6167
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to me, from the posts, that the majority of these built in units from all manufacturers are a real hassle to add any form of additional data.

I'd be sticking a Garmin PND in as they are a piece of cake to update.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve3948
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 10, 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
Steve3948 wrote:
So I'm told Live Traffic is only available on the Command Line and not the Audio20 system
Is that a fact traceable source or Chinese whispers? Very Happy


That was on the Mercedes Me web site, however I contacted the local dealer who said they needed the vehicle for a whole day to see what the issue is, they never mentioned it was not available, just that they needed the vehicle for the day.

I'm thinking there must be files on the original sd card, I found one that is called Traffic Provider, but not sure if its more complicated than one file.

I think I will put the old card back in and see if the subscription is then valid.
Then try and work out what needs to be copied over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steve3948 wrote:
That was on the Mercedes Me web site, however I contacted the local dealer who said they needed the vehicle for a whole day to see what the issue is, they never mentioned it was not available,
Ah, Chinese whispers then? Very Happy Arse and elbow situation yet again then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scottief
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

npr wrote:
How do you identify the Audio20 and Command systems?

I sure it's the Audio20 I have in my B Class and that has tomtom live traffic information.

Having said that, the mercedes me connect store does say:

"Live Traffic is only available with COMAND Online. Unfortunately, this service cannot be offered with Audio20."

Typical mercedes confusion.


I have Audio 20 and the TomTom traffic sub is valid for 3 years (just before the car is at the end of the finance). It works fine as I tried it on bank holiday traffic a few weeks back running side by side with Co Pilot live traffic and it was fairly accurate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you managed to get the PGPSW database on it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scottief
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
Have you managed to get the PGPSW database on it?


Yes. Followed the instructions supplied here on the threads using POI builder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback. I'm certain that it will give others a bit of a 'lift'.
Now that 'we' know it can be done, 'we' can offer assistance.
Do you get the proximity warnings and does it have the spoken alerts or just beeps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scottief
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M8TJT wrote:
Thanks for the feedback. I'm certain that it will give others a bit of a 'lift'.
Now that 'we' know it can be done, 'we' can offer assistance.
Do you get the proximity warnings and does it have the spoken alerts or just beeps?


No it gives inconsistent 'bongs' but I'd say fm my experience I get about 90% of them. It's worthwhile reading all the pages of this and the Chinese characters thread. It will give you an idea as to the level of success and the 'how to' like I followed. Also the files to remove in order to get rid of the Chinese writing and have red banners instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
npr
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 07, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New software V10.0 available for download via the MB download manager.

So far I can't see any difference from previous firmware, speed camera db working ok, still shows Chinese characters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Factory-Fit and In-Dash SatNav Systems All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 10 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.024 (24 Feb 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping