Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - REVIEW COMMENTS: TomTom Registry Hack
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

REVIEW COMMENTS: TomTom Registry Hack
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:36 pm    Post subject: REVIEW COMMENTS: TomTom Registry Hack Reply with quote

This article describes how to install TomTom Navigator 2.24 to just about any place on your Pocket PC, with the obvious emphasis on the storage card. The same approach should work for TomTom Navigator 3, but I could not test it because here in the US we're still stuck with version 2.

Why are we doing this? Because all these navigation applications are memory hogs, and TomTom Navigator is no exception.

The full review is available here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nej
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 16, 2004
Posts: 454
Location: London, Ingerlund

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surely it's easier to just specify where you want to install it when you actually install it, if you see what I mean... When it asks "Do you want to install TomTom Navigator to the default directory" or whatever it says, just select No, and then you can select to install it on the Storage card instead. Then do the same for TomTom Voice etc.

I suppose that the tendancy is just to install it as default though, and only a few weeks later realise that you've no memory left, so useful article!

Interestingly though, I had a few different problems when running it off the card (when using TomTom Traffic it often corrupted the card). TomTom suggested that it ran better from the internal memory and it's been fine since then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark1968
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 01, 2004
Posts: 290
Location: Northampton

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I correct in assuming that this process this work with CoPolit 5?
_________________
Please follow me on twitter @mdyson1968
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nej wrote:
Surely it's easier to just specify where you want to install it when you actually install it, if you see what I mean... When it asks "Do you want to install TomTom Navigator to the default directory" or whatever it says, just select No, and then you can select to install it on the Storage card instead. Then do the same for TomTom Voice etc.


That's the theory. In practise the TomTom GPS engine ignores your indicated destination and installs to \Windows anyhow. The only way to install TomTOm GPS somewhere else is by following the article instructions.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
geraint
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Dorset, UK.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone tried this with TomTom Navigator 3 yet?
_________________
Geraint

TomTom for iPhone v1.9
App version: 8.300 (777309)
Map: Western Europe v875.3668
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just done it on Navigator 3

Only difference is that the voice files are stored in the Navigator directory and not in a sub-directory of navigator.

On my 2210, I had to name storage card as SD card in the registry.

Also had to un-install the TomTom Wizzard as it is looking at the wrong location, but I never use that anyway.

Other than that it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've put the GPS engine back into the windows directory too, can live with half a meg there for the sake of the wake up error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some side effects I've found are that the PostCode program and Checkpoint won't launch TomTom as they are also pointing at the wrong location.

Anyone know how to get these two programs lookng in the right location for Tomtom?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wilko wrote:
I've put the GPS engine back into the windows directory too, can live with half a meg there for the sake of the wake up error.


only the ttgpseng.exe needs to be in the Windows directory. It's 86 KB
The TomTom GPS.exe is the control program - that can go to the storage card. It's 385 KB on my machine.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Wilko
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 17, 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nej wrote:
Surely it's easier to just specify where you want to install it when you actually install it, if you see what I mean... When it asks "Do you want to install TomTom Navigator to the default directory" or whatever it says, just select No, and then you can select to install it on the Storage card instead. Then do the same for TomTom Voice etc.


Tried it this way, also installing checkpoint to the SD card, and checkpoint and the postcode software can launch Tomtom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skyhigh
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 12, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried the registry hack and all works just fine, however, like you say checkpoiint wont launch anymore. Sad So I uninstalled it, and reinstalled it pointing the installation to the SD storgae card (where navigator is now) but it still will not launch and when I go to look for the folder on the SD card all I see is the checkpoint CAB file. What am I doing wrong? or is there a way of hacking the checkpoint too?

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there should be no CAB file after the install (unless the file is marked as read-only). Try tapping the CAB file from your Pocket File Explorer - this should re-launch the CheckPOInt install.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
skyhigh
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 12, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On further inspection, looking via the laptop connection it has turned into a checkpoint folder although there appears to nothing in it!
If I install it anywhere else other than the SD card will it work with Navigator now thats in the SD card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skyhigh
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 12, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump

still lookig for an answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skyhigh
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 12, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wilko
How did you manage to get checkpoit to load to the Storge card and does it work with Navigator following the Hack?
Still searching for a fix to this one. Sad [/i]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping