Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Find Digitised Road???
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Find Digitised Road???

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Nissan Connect
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aomega001
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 06, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:23 am    Post subject: Find Digitised Road??? Reply with quote

I recently installed a 2011 nissan connect in to my wifes Qashqai. When trying to use the guided navigation it asks for my wife to find a digitised road Confused . She gets no voice navigation and worse still on approaching our home address the cursor went all over the place. When my wife parked the cursor was in our back neighbours garden Shocked. The maps according to the unit are from 2010, but I do not understand the digitised road thing. I have looked through all of the options and am now lost. Can anyone suggest a way of fixing this or is the unit up the spout Crying or Very sad ?

Any help would be greatly received.

Regards

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds the same as my Honda satnav. It means that the map is not as up to date as it could be, and you are not on a road that's been verified by the mapping people (in a car park for example). As soon as you get on to the nearest road that they know about, it's OK. If you're not on a road that they have digitised, it effectively doesn't know where you are and cannot direct you along a road that it does not know about, or how to get you to one that it does. It's up to you to get to the road, then it can give you directions. You may also get the same 'error' if you try to navigate to a position not on a road, but my Honda (and iGO) will warn you that you can't get there, but draw that route anyway, leaving the last bit in red. (I believe that TT just gives up and won't plot a route at all Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aomega001
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 06, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand what you say and thanks for your help, the satnav system still follows the route that we took and once on a main road I pressed the button to tell it to navigate, once again it told us that we were not on a digitised road even though it showed the road name and number Confused Confused Is there anywhere I can download the maps and has anyone any idea as to what software/maps this model uses it is the bosch unit their web site is about as much use as a back pocket on a sock. Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is extremely unlikely that new maps will solve your problem if it is a widespread as you indicate, not recognising any road. Confused There are generally only minor differences in the map content, and 2010 are fairly recent maps and I wouldn't wory too much about that. There are those who seem to have a fetish for 'must have the latest maps'.

Just had a thought. Are you sure that it's not the destination to which you are trying to navigate that's not on the digitised map rather than your current location?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aomega001
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 06, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am sure my home address is digitised as it had the correct street name and the postcode. I am now very confused i think it may be a software error. would resetting it to factory settings give it a jog? Any idea where i could get the latest maps/software to download. My wifes TomTom has no problems and the maps on that are 2008.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aomega001 wrote:
I am sure my home address is digitised as it had the correct street name and the postcode. .
Try driving to a main road, and then set up a route from there to another main road and see if it still does it.
aomega001 wrote:
i think it may be a software error. would resetting it to factory settings give it a jog?.
Always worth a try
aomega001 wrote:
Any idea where i could get the latest maps/software to download. My wifes TomTom has no problems and the maps on that are 2008.
No, but take a clue from the TT, the 2010 maps will be OK as long as you are not on a new road. Does the TT work OK from your house?
Can you please explain a bit more precicely what's going on and exactly when you get the 'not on digitised map' . Does it do this wherever you are? Is it only when you set a route? Are you sure that both start and destination are on the map. etc. Have you tried the old RTFM trick yet Very Happy ? If so does that give any clues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aomega001
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 06, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the advice, my wife is out in the car today at work I will ask her to set a route from a main trunk road. In answer to your question the TT has no problem planning the same route the connect could not and yes I have tried the RTFM trick. The route we planned, just to test the unit, was from my inlaws (Unadopted but named road) to our home address, the journey is only about 2 1/2 miles. I tried to get it to replan when we got onto an A road but it said I had to wait as I was not on a digitised road. I will have a tinker with it again today.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalek
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 14, 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Northants. UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

non digitised message.... I think it is what you get when the end of your journey is to a dead end or a cul-de-sac, a road that does not go 'through'. just ignore it.

Last edited by dalek on Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:49 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peasemore
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 03, 2007
Posts: 379
Location: Berkshire

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maps are out of date and Nissan update just once a year; done by buying expensive new SIM card from dealer.
However, they are cheaper on E Bay, but unsure how kosher they are.
You may be able to smart talk dealer when you have serviced to throw new SD card in..at least during 1st 3 years of ownership Embarassed

MY Nissan bought in April had map that showed Esso garage that closed around 8 years ago.
_________________
Gel
Lifetime Member Thames Valley, Berkshire, UK
Mazda CX-5 built in SatNav- not sure if TT or not. Garmin NUVI in reserve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Nissan Connect All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.052 (11 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping