Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - How to install inforad permanently?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

How to install inforad permanently?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Hardware based GPS SCD Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dany2010
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 18, 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:33 pm    Post subject: How to install inforad permanently? Reply with quote

Hi.
Is it possible to install the inforad k2 permanently so when i turn on the engine it turns on?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seamaster
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Easy. You'll probably find the K2 works fine permanently plugged straight into your cigar lighter socket via its mini charger. Depends where the lighter is. But the K2 is surprisingly sensitive, and can receive GPS signals without line of sight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dany2010
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 18, 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way of connecting it up to the car electrics like the car radio though? So when i turn the ignition on the inforad turns on.

Dont realy want the wire trailing from the lighter socket.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1933

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dany2010 wrote:
Is there a way of connecting it up to the car electrics like the car radio though? So when i turn the ignition on the inforad turns on.
Yes, The complexity of doing so is totally dependent upon your DIY wiring skills.

dany2010 wrote:
Dont realy want the wire trailing from the lighter socket.
Chose any other suitable fused power supply that is available in your make of car. Don't forget to transform the power down if necessary.
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seamaster
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dany2010 wrote:
Is there a way of connecting it up to the car electrics like the car radio though? So when i turn the ignition on the inforad turns on. Dont realy want the wire trailing from the lighter socket.


That's my point. There is no wire.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There will be one on the back of the ciggy lighter. If you can't find it, you realy aught to get someone else to do it for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterc10
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Aug 21, 2005
Posts: 1761
Location: Kent, England

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On some cars the ciggy lighter works without the ignition on, so that does not always work. I know one of my previous cars was like that, just can't remember which one.

Best to find the switched live feed from the fusebox. If not you can probably also piggy back off the switched live into the back of the radio. However as M8TJT says if you don't know how to find them, or how to make the connections when you do, then you really need to get somebody else who does to do it for you. The result of incorrect wiring can be disastrous!
_________________
Peter
HTC Sensation
Sygic GPS for Europe (No more TT "support"!)
Copilot for USA
Bury CC9060 bluetooth car kit & Brodit mount
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Seamaster
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, have you even SEEN a K2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. But I do know about electrical safety, and what the effects are if you get it wrong.

Presumably the K2 switches on when power is connected, if it does not then the OP is on a hiding to nothing.

Oh, and there is always a wire, if you can find it Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seamaster wrote:
Guys, have you even SEEN a K2?

Yes, and it comes with a car charger. All you need is a USB extension cable to plug the K2 into the charger. Then wire the charger, via an extension cigar lighter socket such as this) into the cars 12v supply via an ignition controlled circuit.

You MUST use the supplied charger which does the 12v to 5v reduction hence it's much easier to use the aforementioned extension cable. Just chop of the plug end and wire into a fused, ignition switched 12v supply line.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
Just chop of the plug end and wire into a fused, ignition switched 12v supply line.
That's what danny wants, but seamaster seems to think that such a connection is not available. Bur will the K2 switch on when the power is applied?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine works fine when charging from the supplied charger, unless something has changed with later revisions then it should work Confused
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Seamaster
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
Seamaster wrote:
Guys, have you even SEEN a K2?

Yes, and it comes with a car charger. All you need is a USB extension cable to plug the K2 into the charger. Then wire the charger, via an extension cigar lighter socket such as this) into the cars 12v supply via an ignition controlled circuit. You MUST use the supplied charger which does the 12v to 5v reduction hence it's much easier to use the aforementioned extension cable. Just chop of the plug end and wire into a fused, ignition switched 12v supply line.


What a carry on, when you can just plug the thing direct into the cigar lighter adaptor (the newer version is tiny, and flush-fitting) and achieve the same result without a single wire.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We're only answering the OPs question, his choice at the end of the day?

There may be other reasons why he doesn't want the 12v socket occupied but either way, he now has the info and can make a choice that suits him.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
AliOnHols
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Oct 15, 2008
Posts: 1933

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
......but either way, he now has the info and can make a choice that suits him.


If dany2010 is still around Question
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 2599
Android with CamerAlert, OsmAnd+, Waze & TT Europe.
TomTom GO 730, GO 930, GO 940 & Rider2.
SatMap Active 10 & 20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Hardware based GPS SCD Systems All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping