Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - HTC HD2 and TomTom 7
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

HTC HD2 and TomTom 7

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Is the 'Sat Nav' the greatest invention of the last decade?
Yes
25%
 25%  [ 1 ]
No
75%
 75%  [ 3 ]
Total Votes : 4

Author Message
Underdog
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 20, 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Kent

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:06 pm    Post subject: HTC HD2 and TomTom 7 Reply with quote

Hi everyone.

Just got the HTC HD2 and very nice it is except 2 things....
1..... No Voice recognition for voice dial in the car.....
2..... TomTom 7 is not available on this device.

There are a number of threads on the net that state that there is a cab file that can be downloaded and copied over the official cab file which will then make TomTom 7 work fine.

I have not seen any advice on this subject but would welcom any feed back from members of this site as I trust this site and have no experience of the other sites.....

Kind regards and glad tidings to all the members....

Mike
_________________
This is the sad bit where I type all these words in a random order and they neither say or tell you anything so maybe you should not waste your time reading it...........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrequentFlyer
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 12, 2006
Posts: 960
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just interested to know which was the 'best' HD2 deal that you got ? (And does anybody else have any input on this one, as I would like to move up to this device.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Underdog
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 20, 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Kent

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Vodafone business Advisor phoned me and said he had 9 units and I could have one as I was due an upgrade.
I pay 35 per month for more talk time, messages and web browsing than I could ever use without having a sex change op and the unit was FREE for an 18 month contract.
I spoke to TomTom and nothing YET! but watch this space. I also noticed an HTC HD2 with TomTom loaded going for about 389.
I had a play with the CoPilot 8 and the only impressive thing was the map is more up todate than TomTom....

Kind regards
Michael
_________________
This is the sad bit where I type all these words in a random order and they neither say or tell you anything so maybe you should not waste your time reading it...........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Touch HD2 is a very capable device currently the only way to get TomTom Nav 7 running on it is by downloading hacked software which is usually accompanied with a hacked map so its not something you will find assistance with on this forum until/ unless TomTom release an official nav 7 intended for the HD2.

To be honest the rather strange way TomTom have made this version only suit certain phones and in some cases from specific networks/ regions is bizzare, there are plenty of users that would like to use the software on PDA based phones and are prepared to pay for it, TomTom continue to make purchasing/ installing this software very difficult, a lot of users have switched to other navigation applications from the likes of Sygic, Co-Pilot etc - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
TimInstone
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 02, 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:27 pm    Post subject: HTC HD2 Reply with quote

Getting turn-by-turn driving instructions is only part of what's needed: Speed cameras and obstructions to traffic also need to work (if you're hooked on them, that is).

Does anyone know if any mapping software has these features enabled for the HD2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
st1967
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 28, 2003
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This whole TomTom 7 and smart phones is a complete joke.

I had the official TT6 application that came with my old TyTN II smartphone and transfered my licence from an old iPaq PDA I used to use. It is only my backup and for use in my wifes car but it worked.

I upgraded my phone to a shiny new HTC Touch Pro 2 (HD2 with a keyboard) and was again going to swap my TT6 to this device !!

However guess what ? The official TT6 TyTN II application only runs on QVGA screens !! My nice TP2 has a VGA screen so it will not run.
_________________
Samsung S10 Android, Google Maps & Camera Alert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomo1340
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 17, 2005
Posts: 209
Location: Bentham

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

st1967 wrote:
This whole TomTom 7 and smart phones is a complete joke.

I had the official TT6 application that came with my old TyTN II smartphone and transfered my licence from an old iPaq PDA I used to use. It is only my backup and for use in my wifes car but it worked.

I upgraded my phone to a shiny new HTC Touch Pro 2 (HD2 with a keyboard) and was again going to swap my TT6 to this device !!

However guess what ? The official TT6 TyTN II application only runs on QVGA screens !! My nice TP2 has a VGA screen so it will not run.


No it isn't.
_________________
o2 XDA Stellar
TTN6
MOWE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
st1967
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 28, 2003
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomo1340 wrote:

No it isn't.


OK I stand corrected Embarassed

But Tom Tom support for smart phones is still sh1te Wink
_________________
Samsung S10 Android, Google Maps & Camera Alert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomo1340
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 17, 2005
Posts: 209
Location: Bentham

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

st1967 wrote:
tomo1340 wrote:

No it isn't.


OK I stand corrected Embarassed

But Tom Tom support for smart phones is still sh1te Wink


Yes it is.
_________________
o2 XDA Stellar
TTN6
MOWE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
madgee
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 26, 2003
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:39 am    Post subject: Re: HTC HD2 and TomTom 7 Reply with quote

Underdog wrote:
Hi everyone.

Just got the HTC HD2 and very nice it is except 2 things....
1..... No Voice recognition for voice dial in the car.....
2..... TomTom 7 is not available on this device.

There are a number of threads on the net that state that there is a cab file that can be downloaded and copied over the official cab file which will then make TomTom 7 work fine.

I have not seen any advice on this subject but would welcom any feed back from members of this site as I trust this site and have no experience of the other sites.....

Kind regards and glad tidings to all the members....

Mike


Have put Copilot on my HD2 for now. Hope they release Navigator 8 to work with this phone, and that it has IQ routes and HD traffic like on i-phone.

Also, forthcoming Aura looks interesting. http://aura.sygic.com/index.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ifb-online
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 10, 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

st1967 wrote:
This whole TomTom 7 and smart phones is a complete joke.

I had the official TT6 application that came with my old TyTN II smartphone and transfered my licence from an old iPaq PDA I used to use. It is only my backup and for use in my wifes car but it worked.

I upgraded my phone to a shiny new HTC Touch Pro 2 (HD2 with a keyboard) and was again going to swap my TT6 to this device !!

However guess what ? The official TT6 TyTN II application only runs on QVGA screens !! My nice TP2 has a VGA screen so it will not run.


Well, I had TTN6 running on a Dell Axim x50v and that had a VGA screen.

I'm still running TTN6 on a Tytn II and I really want to upgrade to an HD2 as there are some great deals to be had (25/month for a 'free' handset, including mobile interent), but so far it's not looking good for TTN6 on the HD2 Sad

Ian
_________________
*Just started using: HTC Desire and Google Navigation!
TomTom Navigator 6
HTC TyTn II (Orange UK version)
Formerly: Fortuna Clip On GPS, Dell Axim x50v
CheckPoint 6.0
Pocket GPS Safety Camera Database
Garmin eMap + MapSource UK maps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ifb-online
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 10, 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Herts, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After seeing threads suggestng thet TTN7 was no longer on sale, I see this:

http://www.tomtom.com/products/section.php?ID=898&Section=709&Lid=1&Category=2

And it's listed as HTC HD2 compatible, which is great news.

Ian
_________________
*Just started using: HTC Desire and Google Navigation!
TomTom Navigator 6
HTC TyTn II (Orange UK version)
Formerly: Fortuna Clip On GPS, Dell Axim x50v
CheckPoint 6.0
Pocket GPS Safety Camera Database
Garmin eMap + MapSource UK maps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fellwalker
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2006
Posts: 207
Location: Up North

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifb-online wrote:
After seeing threads suggestng thet TTN7 was no longer on sale, I see this:

http://www.tomtom.com/products/section.php?ID=898&Section=709&Lid=1&Category=2

And it's listed as HTC HD2 compatible, which is great news.

Ian

This aspect is duplicating this thread: http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=80498 where i have posted about TomTom and their "support" for HD2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liquoricepaper
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 06, 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Glasgow, (The one in Scotland)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:37 am    Post subject: HD2 and Navigator Reply with quote

Hi folks, haven't posted for a while but I thought I'd kick in on this one.

I didn't think twice about it, never thought they would be incompatible, so I just loadede it Navigator 7 running on my HD2, granted I don't use it much outside my home town. No need Car has built in SatNav. So the free City Map TomTom offers on install works just great for me as I do travel about alot without the car druing the day.

Hope this has added to the confussion of it all, I see this as my purpose in life.
_________________
Hope this has added to the confussion of it all, I see this as my purpose in life. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping