Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - NAVMAN's Own Speed Camera Updates for S Series
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

NAVMAN's Own Speed Camera Updates for S Series
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaveMatthews
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2004
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
xtraseller, you have to be the most optimistic customer I have ever seen!
  • A service pack that makes matters worse.
  • Camera updates that are two months old
  • And an update that wipes out your maps
By now, most users would be screaming blue murder, what do you say? "I like the implementation' and "not the end of the world"! You are definitely a cup is half full kind of guy, have an award:

First


Joker I'm starting to suspect xtraseller either has twenty grands' worth of shares invested in NavMan... or is actually their Director General! Not Worthy

If he/she genuinely likes the S-series, then I respect his/her right to express that opinion (indeed I agree it has one or two nice features - albeit alongside a host of crap ones)... but it can't be denied that NavMan's, ahem, "After Sales Support" has been a practical joke at the expense of owners.

Admittedly I'm not one of the customers who is screaming blue murder - it's clearly a waste of energy. I've simply given up on the bl**dy thing.


--

Cheers,


Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snowwolf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 22, 2006
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:54 pm    Post subject: speed cams Reply with quote

I ended up unistalling the maps (only got UK maps on it) and reinstalling them, only took 5 mins now all ok.

I still actually like it, dispite some of the qualms, hopefully navman can sort them out soon, I have only ever had navman sat navs, so unsure what other makes are like, I did have a play with my mates tom tom a couple of years ago, and it seemed complecated to put a destination in, but it was probably him not knowing what to do Laughing Out Loud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulRS
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:17 pm    Post subject: Losing confidence Reply with quote

Fortunately I took a full backup before applying the speed camera updates. I have now restored this and it loaded ok. I've checked in Navman/POIs and the new files are still present so I can't say what the restore has done. I'll be complaining in the morning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtraseller
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 15/07/2003 22:59:27
Posts: 1050
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:47 pm    Post subject: Award Reply with quote

Well thanks for the Award... really much appreciated

It's not that I'm a perfect customer, far from it, but sometimes I take time to consider how imperfect we all are in our jobs (and life), so can accept a little of that from others. Occasionally. Todays blunder from Navman isn't acceptable, and a very least should come with an apology and correct coding by end of week. I doubt if it will, but hope so

I don't have shares in Navman, nor am I their DG - thankfully! Unless they have some pretty slick new features in their 2008 releases then that could be £20k do the pan!!! A worthless 3D icon of a few famous buildings won't tempt me

However, I genuienly do think for door to door navigation the Navman beats my TomTom Go, Garmin Nuvi 300, Navigon 7110 and Navigon n100 units hands down. Reliability. Mapping. Display. Ease of use

Just PLEASE Navman stop updating us or we'll end up with an un-useable system

Surely Mio haven't ditched iGo for no reason at all, risking their Number 3 position of Sat Nav suppliers behind TomTom and Garmin for nothing - lets hope not anyway for their sake and competitions

Now, where's my Navman Mapping DVD to do that re-load...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DaveMatthews
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2004
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 1:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Award Reply with quote

xtraseller wrote:

However, I genuienly do think for door to door navigation the Navman beats my TomTom Go, Garmin Nuvi 300, Navigon 7110 and Navigon n100 units hands down. Reliability. Mapping. Display. Ease of use


Yes, I'd probably agree with you on that. But "door to door navigation" is the most basic level of SatNav functionality and is something that *all* SatNav units - no matter how cheap or expensive - should handle competently. (It would be a bit like saying "Wow! This new car comes with a steering wheel!") If you invest in the top-of-the-range model, it's not enough to simply excel at the basics - and this is where, in my view, the S90i falls short in so many areas (admittedly not so much the actual features - just the diabolically poor way some of them have been implemented). As such it is/was poor value for money - indeed the lead-balloon-like series of falls in the RRP on the S-series range possibly indicate that the general populace have similar views to mine. The S90i is a good "basic" unit shrouded in a load of clumsily-designed additional features, many of which are badly bolted together. It's the SatNav equivalent of Frankenstein's monster.

Conversely if I was in the market for just a "basic" unit, I would probably be delighted with the S30.

--

Cheers,


Dave


Last edited by DaveMatthews on Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtraseller
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 15/07/2003 22:59:27
Posts: 1050
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:04 pm    Post subject: Horses for courses Reply with quote

I buy a sat nav to get me from a to b

But I want it to do this with

a) good choice of route

b) clear mapping, preferably looking good too

c) quick and clear data entry

d) clear vocal instructions, with detailed and timely naration with tts

e) good onscreen and vocal directions over complex intersections, roundabouts and junctions (preferably with dual screen views, with reality view one side, 3D mapping the other, next turn and countdown)

f) built in GPRS and Sim-Card for improved coverage of traffic information, local search, etc

If it does things like mp3, photos, bluetooth and the rest great - but for me, has no benefit since they never do it better than a good specialised unit

A top end unit for me would one that would do the above, and it doesn't exist

I agree all sat navs should do all this - but they don't. Simple as that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulRS
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:25 pm    Post subject: Response from Navman Support Reply with quote

Quote:
We are aware of the issue. But the device should work fine, it doesn't affect the maps loaded.

Please let me know if you have some problems though.
Note that they don't say which maps are loaded. I'll re-apply the update if possible and see what's what.

Regarding the pronunciation of "A" roads, our machine speaks it more like the last syllable of rounder. It's set to use "Emily".

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtraseller
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 15/07/2003 22:59:27
Posts: 1050
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:14 pm    Post subject: Re-load Reply with quote

Same here with the speech, and I didn't get round to re-loading the mapping yesterday after all, but the unit worked fine today without any issues

Travelled quite some miles in it, but didnt get any speed cam warnings - but didnt see any either, so I guess thats about right!!!

Maybe the update just provoked a fault report that isn't there, and it clears itself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulRS
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: RE: Response from Navman Reply with quote

As per my previous update, I've re-applied the Speed Camera update and got exactly the same error messages as before. I've just ignored the error for now and the only thing apparent so far is that after a reset, it goes back to the place on the map that I was at when I applied the update, not to the "Home" location. It should have been at the home location when I applied the update anyway as it always does a reset when you connect it to the PC, so I'm not sure what's happening at present.

Regarding the "Maps not loaded properly", I've done a city centre search on every country. I've also plotted a route from home to Brussels (Hmmm, I like this, it takes me via the ferry, unlike TomTom which insists I use the Channel Tunnel).

I'll play with the settings over the weekend and see how I can get around the home location problem.

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulRS
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:17 pm    Post subject: What Speed Cameras?? Reply with quote

Hey xtraseller. Check your system. I took my S90i out with me this morning, and guess what? No speed camera warnings, even on those two or three years old. I've just checked again and the one local to us is missing. I checked the POIs and no Speed Camera categories available at all. I've restored the system to before the speed cam update and the categories are back again and the original cameras are all there. So much for
Quote:
But the device should work fine, it doesn't affect the maps loaded.


I'm just about to respond to their email and I'll try to be polite.

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtraseller
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 15/07/2003 22:59:27
Posts: 1050
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:22 am    Post subject: Speed Cameras Reply with quote

Have checked my system, and the speed cameras I except to see locally are all there

Remember for a WARNING you need to be driving in the direction of the speed camera and over the speed limit or within 10% of it, otherwise you don't need to know about it, so it doesn't distract you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulRS
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:02 pm    Post subject: Speed Cameras Reply with quote

Quote:
Remember for a WARNING you need to be driving in the direction of the speed camera and over the speed limit or within 10% of it, otherwise you don't need to know about it, so it doesn't distract you


I knew about the direction thing but not about the speed. In retospect that probably answers some questions I hadn't got round to. Thanks for that.

Neither of these were the issue though, the cameras just weren't shown on the map, and when I checked the categories to make sure they were set to be displayed, the categories weren't listed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheM
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2005
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 9:13 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Response from Navman Reply with quote

PaulRS wrote:
Regarding the "Maps not loaded properly"


"Maps not loaded properly" will show up if any of the map components didn't load properly, even if it was just one file out of hundred. Subscription POIs count as maps (but Custom POIs do not).


PaulRS wrote:
I've done a city centre search on every country. I've also plotted a route from home to Brussels (Hmmm, I like this, it takes me via the ferry, unlike TomTom which insists I use the Channel Tunnel).


PaulRS wrote:
Neither of these were the issue though, the cameras just weren't shown on the map, and when I checked the categories to make sure they were set to be displayed, the categories weren't listed.


So your other maps work but your updated speed cameras are broken. Can you re-update? If not, contact Navman for help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulRS
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 42
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:29 pm    Post subject: Further Response from Navman Support Reply with quote

I had contacted Navman support again, response below.

Quote:
We had an issue regarding the speed cam update - Everything is back to normal so you can download again the last speed cams location.

Sorry about that.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us.


Not as straightforward as it might sound. When I restored my pre speed camera backup the other day, and then went to subscriptions, it acted as per the initial update. When I connected tonight after again restoring the backup, "Update Subscription" was greyed out. I deleted the new .map files from the NAVMAN/POIs folder and tried again and the update option was still greyed out. I did a "Recover Subscription" and it downloaded the update at the same time. Checked on the POIs folder and the updated files were back again. No error messages after this, it just worked. Hopefully that's it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtraseller
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 15/07/2003 22:59:27
Posts: 1050
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:55 pm    Post subject: Fix Reply with quote

Have emailed me back a fix for the problem today...



Quote:

To run the Fix Application the files from the Zip file need to be copied into any directory and then the NavmanFixer.exe program run. Do not copy the files to the “program files\navman\navdesk” directory as this directory will already have transagent.dll USBDevice.dll and currmaps.xsd in it and I would rather that the original files were not overwritten

1 - Unzip attached file

2 - run NavmanFixer.exe

3 - Recover licence files and subscriptions


Works a treat. All back to normal now, but with updated speed cameras

Lets hope it doesn't happen again. At least they fixed the problem day one, released a fix for early updaters within 2 working days
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.082 (10 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping