Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom v6.032 voice problem
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom v6.032 voice problem
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear its working, but now the puzzle gets a little more difficult to sort out, add each of your additional software packages one at a time and test the TomTom application between each installation, note down memory usage and availability at each step, when it falls over you might have found the problem - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Satellite
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2005
Posts: 176
Location: Swansea, UK Napoli, Italia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mike, thankfully most of my software was on that backup.
The only thing that I did install was Wisbar 3 and TT started to statter, so I removed it. I only have to install Windows Live.


Memory Usage (Activesync connected) 21.64Mb Free
Main Storage 25.26Mb Free
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i have been using mine the last few days without the powered mount with no voice cut off, put it back into the mount fault comes back susp is a compatibility fault with it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This solution seems to work!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=1779043&postcount=2

Basically it starts playing an "empty" mp3 file in Windows Media before starting TomTom. As long as the file is playing, instructions are not cut off.

I had to re-write some of the scripts as the directories were different, but that was easy.

Be interested to see if it works for others.

I have informed TomTom of this, so hope they will release a real fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Satellite
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2005
Posts: 176
Location: Swansea, UK Napoli, Italia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eugene7 wrote:


I had to re-write some of the scripts as the directories were different, but that was easy.


What do you mean by that?

Could you upload the amended file?

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posted the fix with my ammended file here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=1904152#post1904152

Let us know if it works for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Satellite
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2005
Posts: 176
Location: Swansea, UK Napoli, Italia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much Eugene,
So far it is working ok (Please read my posts), but you never know, so I'm keeping this "solution" as a fix in case it happens again. Wink

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have downloaded your ammended version off Helmut's fix but do not understand your install instructions could you give a step by step guide please
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To install Helmut's fix (my version) first install and run his CAB file.

To do this copy the CAB file into the Kaiser, and click (double) to install it. Install on the device, not the card.

Then place the two other files in the download in to the 'Program Files/Navigator' folder on the device.

Make a shortcut of the 'Start TomTom' file now held within the Program Files/Navigator folder.

This you do by making a copy the program via 'press-and-hold-copy', and then navigate to Windows/Start Menu/Programs and 'press-and-hold-make shortcut'.

You then run TomTom via the new 'Start TomTom' icon in the programs list - not by the original TomTom icon.

This new 'Start TomTom' icon runs a dummy .mp3 file vai WMplayer to stop the voices being cot off part way through a direction instruction.

Works real well.


Last edited by Eugene7 on Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have done what you said . but when i Lock in the programs list i only have 1 tomtom icon so should there be 2 or has the old one been replaced by the new
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have got it working , put the short cut into the wrong file should be in windows/start menu/programes.
just tyred a short journey worked 100% thanks Eugene for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the correct location for the shortcut - changed my instructions to match.

I've used TomTom for some long trips now, and it always works 100%, even with John Cleese, which was the worse for being cut-off.

Hope TomTom can now find a real fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
StevePritchard
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 15, 2005
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fingers crossed, but I'm not overly hopeful. There's still the bug that sound is muted if the BlueTooth GPS connection is active when TomTom starts, and that was introduced in 6.030, so there has been 2 (granted, minor) releases since then and the problem is still there.

Cheers,

Steve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree steve - the GPS bug is one I've reported too!

And, I've just had this reply from TomTom - to say I'm not impressed is an understatement!

************************************************** *******
Thank you for contacting TomTom Customer Support.

Please go to the below links to view the devices that are currently supported for use with Navigator 6.

http://www.tomtom.com/products/featu...tegory=2&Lid=4
http://www.tomtom.com/products/featu...tegory=2&Lid=1

Your PDA is not supported for use with Navigator 6. HTC Tytn II is listed as HTC provide phones with Navigator 6 pre-installed on the ROM. Vodafone and others then re-brand them and add their own firmware. This has not been tested with our software and/or has been deemed incompatible.

At TomTom we aim to test as many PDA's and Mobile Phones with our Navigator Products. However not all PDA's and Phones are compatible with our products due to the hardware restraints of the device, or the ROM version installed on the device.

As more and more PDA's, Phones and other handheld devices become available on the market, it is not always possible to test all devices straight away. When we find that a device performs well with our products, we will list the device as compatible on our website.


Our Compatibility lists are updated as regularly as possible, but you find that your device is not listed in the compatibility lists above, then your device has been deemed incompatible.

It is TomTom's policy not to support incompatible devices with our products. We only suggest installing our products onto compatible PDA's, Phones and other Handheld devices.


With best regards,

The TomTom Customer Support Team
************************************************** *******
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But this has always been the case with any s/w developed for PDA / mobile phones. In the early days of PCs the different BIOS implementations caused similar issues for s/w vendors.

The problem nowadays, esp with mobile devices, is that new devices appear all the time and manufacturers tweak basic settings (to offer something 'unique') then the network operators tweak them again (to offer something unique'). Complex applications like TomTom can easily be 'broken' by this sort of tweaking. It is quite fair for TomTom to publish a list of supported devices - these are those devices they have tested and believe they can support. If we choose to run their app on unsupported devices then, by implication, we are taking on our own support. I have TT6 running on a DELL AXIM X51v under Windows Mobile 6. WM6 certainly isn't supported on the AXIM - so TT6 won't be either. But it's a risk I am willing to take. If it went wrong I could always revert to WM5.
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.012 (12 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping