Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - White cross on my tt one v3
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

White cross on my tt one v3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dill8078
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:27 pm    Post subject: White cross on my tt one v3 Reply with quote

Hi can anyone help me i have contected my tom tom one v.3 to my pc for update and it as gone off restarted and it is now showing a white cross on a red background.
when i go back to the website and try to update its comes up with a error message and G:/system message Please can some one help thanks you can email me [email address removed to prevent spam] Darrell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Email address removed to prevent spam.

Please also respect that this is a forum and all communication should be made on the forum so we can all have a chance to see what's been suggested so far and view the solution if someone comes up with it. Otherwise you'll end up with dozens of emails asking questions you've already answered and making the same suggestions to fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dill8078
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 11:16 pm    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

was not thinking thanks for that Anyone help please i need it for work in the morning
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, please try browsing or doing a "search" for some of the other posts on the same subject, as much of what we can suggest has been typed out many, many times before.
This section and the beginners GPS Lounge are the best two places to look.
Once you've tried a few things, report back with some results and we can hopefully get to a solution quicker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dill8078
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi i connected to my pc to charge the tt and it went to update then it went to a profile about removing voices i clicked yes and then it went to the white cross with red box i have tried to do a update again but it fails with the error i have not backed it up as it is the first time i have used the sat nav got it for christmas not very good with this type of thing dont know what to do next anyone help PLEASE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Presumably TomTom "Home" is starting, and that is what you used to try the update?
When you connect to the PC, does the TomTom screen ask if you want to connect to the computer?
If so, do it and then SHUT DOWN Home if it runs.
Open Windows Explorer. Can you see the TomTom as a new hard drive?
If so, open it and tell us what you see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dill8078
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mate no it does not ask me to join to computer it goes to a tom tom one screen with a lead going to the screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dill8078
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i connect it it gose to tomtom home but it as the one with all the oppsions on like add maps and read manual on line about 5 differnet things
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SHUT DOWN Home if it runs.
Open Windows Explorer. Can you see the TomTom as a new hard drive?
If so, open it and tell us what you see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dill8078
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 25, 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi yes when i open window explorer i can see a tomtom icon when i open it it gives me a load of file names in folders ie; maps voices
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good.
My next suggestion would be:
1. make a backup copy NOW by following the instructions HERE

2. Follow these instructions from TomTom:
Quote:
After the backup is made you delete the files from the root directory of the TomTom. Follow the steps below to do this:

1. Reset your TomTom device: (instructions at http://www.tomtom.com/6965) and connect it to your computer.
2. Open My Computer in Windows, or Finder in Macintosh from your desktop and turn on your TomTom device.
3. On your screen a new removable disk appears, this is your TomTom device, click on the disk to open it.
4. You will see a list of folders and a list of loose files
5. Delete all of the loose files. IMPORTANT: The folders with their content must NOT be deleted.
5. Close the window when all files are deleted by clicking on the [x].

Next we will reinstall the application via TomTom HOME.

1. Start TomTom HOME on your computer
TomTom Home should automatically check for updates and prompt you to install them, if not:-
2. Click Install to TomTom.
3. Select the Application update.
4. Click on 'Device - Disconnect Device', then turn off your device when it is done installing and disconnect it from your computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.053 (18 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping