Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - SP1 for Navman iCN 630
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

SP1 for Navman iCN 630
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ICNman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 10, 2003
Posts: 49
Location: London (south-east)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 1:35 am    Post subject: . Reply with quote

Sorry guys,

I tried to install the Navtech maps on to the V2 software, and it didn't work. I first deleted the V2 application and even reseted the iCN to its factory setting ( ie. internal memory completely erased ), then installed the V1 software, activated it, then I installed the V2 software, activated it, downloaded SP1. When I then tried to install the NT maps, it displays an error asking me to activate the NT maps, which I have already activated.

Will try again some time over the weekend.

Thanks gambitgander.

iCNman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alex34
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 11:58 pm    Post subject: Me too... Reply with quote

I had exactly the same issue: I followed the procedure posted on the Navman site (reset, V1, activate, V2, activate, SP1, etc) and no way to download the V1 maps, I have always these "activate" desktop error 0 messages (but it IS activated damnit!).

Search feature is terrible with the Telemaps now, and theses maps are so inacurate and even DANGEROUS (it wanted to make me follow wrong or one way routes twice!!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icsys
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 20, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: South Lancashire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex34 wrote:
Search feature is terrible with the Telemaps now, and theses maps are so inacurate and even DANGEROUS (it wanted to make me follow wrong or one way routes twice!!).

I assume you mean the TeleAtlas maps. Could you explain more on it wanting to send you against the flow of traffic?

I expect you have reported this issue to both Navman and TeleAtlas as it is indeed a SERIOUS issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

icsys wrote:
Alex34 wrote:
Search feature is terrible with the Telemaps now, and theses maps are so inacurate and even DANGEROUS (it wanted to make me follow wrong or one way routes twice!!).

I assume you mean the TeleAtlas maps. Could you explain more on it wanting to send you against the flow of traffic?

I expect you have reported this issue to both Navman and TeleAtlas as it is indeed a SERIOUS issue.


I think Alex34 probably means being directed the wrong way up a one way street. I had a route like that in Cheadle last month. Unsurprisingly, the Navteq data in Autoroute correctly identifies the road in my particular case as being one way; the TeleAtlas data with SmartSTPRO V2 doesn't.

However, GPS is a navigation aid, and its directions are not to be obeyed at all cost. I believe observation of road traffic signs to be of far greater importance.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
anglefire
Regular Visitor


Joined: 27/05/2003 22:32:53
Posts: 114
Location: Solihull, West Midlands, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is another problem - in the form of the average speeds used to calculate a route - I was in the middle of Birmingham this afternoon - and it recond I could do 8miles in about 10minutes! Its probably why it cheeps taking through the middle of twon rather than the motorway, which is normally quicker.
Does anyone else see this Question Or is mine unique!
_________________
Mark

Website

The answer is 42. Now what is the question?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alex34
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The issue I had twice was that I was indeed headed a wrong way up in a one way street because the maps were out of date : it happened in Brittany, France, with the teleatlas maps. I will contact TeleAtlas.

Anyone succeed to go back to Navteq maps with the V2+SP1 ? I have noticed a strange issue : I can download now the Navteq maps with an external card reader (not the unit itself) BUT only 2 on 7 maps downloaded are recognized once the MMC card is back in the unit : 5 have RED letters (not in black), and they can not be checked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The issue I had twice was that I was indeed headed a wrong way up in a one way street because the maps were out of date : it happened in Brittany, France, with the teleatlas maps. I will contact TeleAtlas.


Sorry, but that is absolutely *not* the fault of the software. Your GPS nav system doesn't absolve you from obeying the rules of the road.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Alex34
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 12, 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Off course ! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Mio Navman Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping