Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - New acitvation code
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

New acitvation code

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwhp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 26, 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 4:59 pm    Post subject: New acitvation code Reply with quote

can anyone give me some info how to activate existing florida map, to use on new device, have been given new code by tomtom, being a bit of a thick on these matters any help would be appreciated.
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thebinman
Banned


Joined: Mar 04, 2006
Posts: 770

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Insert the SD card, select the Florida map then it will tell you it has not been activated & ask for the Act code. Input this code without spaces & away go go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That depends on whether you have been given a new activation code by TomTom (unlikely).

They have probably given you a new product code for the map.
You need to enter both that product code and the device code of your TomTom into www.ttcode.com to get the activation code.

You find the device code by tapping the signal strength bars on the screen, then tapping the box where it says the software version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwhp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 26, 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you both for the help, still a bit stuck here tomtom requsted the map product code, the new device code, and proof of purchase they then sent back the same product code I had given them, the new device number I had also given them and listed at the end was an activation code number, but if I put the florida card in the new device it just shows the card coming out and a red cross over it, so cannot get any further with it?
would appreciate you comments on this.
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is nothing to do with activation. You haven't got that far.
The red cross screen means that it cannot find the operating software on the card.

It sounds like you ONLY have the map on that card. Either you need to install the system software onto that card or you need to copy the map folder from that card onto your master one that already has the software installed. The second option is the easiest.

Assuming the unit works (with some other map, you haven't said) - how big is that SD card? Will it have space to take the map folder from your new card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwhp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 26, 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the florida map works on my old tt1 with no problems, confirmed this the other day before orginal tt1 packed up altogether, not sure of the size of the master card which came with the new edtion, it has the gb & roi map but if need be would it be worth getting a larger card and trying to put both maps on to it
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwhp wrote:
if need be would it be worth getting a larger card and trying to put both maps on to it
thanks


That is the easiest way, because you can just do a complete copy of the working card onto a larger one, check that it all works OK, and only when you are happy, add the second map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwhp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 26, 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for all the advice
will get a larger card tomorrow and give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwhp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 26, 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

got the larger card and manage to get the map on it, just to let you know tom tom had sent it as an update to tomtom home, just had to change the device code and download it on to the new card and everything seems ok.
thanks again for all the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping