Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Navman f20 8 Digit oostcode
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Navman f20 8 Digit oostcode

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bigbill
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 24, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:21 am    Post subject: Navman f20 8 Digit oostcode Reply with quote

I know the F20 is advertised as 8 digit postcode. However, I have read reviews and a couple of users can only access a 5 digit postcode. If this is true then it is no better than iCN 510, and not satisfactory for my needs.
Can anyone advise me before I spend my money?
Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's actually 7 digit (for some reason, Navman count the space between the two parts) and yes, the F20 has full postcode search. Of course, some postcodes aren't recognised, just as they aren't when using a TomTom or, for instance, Autoroute. It's possible that a five character search can be found in these instances.

The F series has just been made more attractive with the announcement onf a hands-free connectivity kit, among other things.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rodderstrotter
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2005
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's set up worong, this can result in a 5 digit postcode only.
If you do find yourself in the situation where you've only got 5 digit postcode search, here is the answer.

Main menu/Preferences/System/Reset/Reset all/factory default.

Switch on unit again/tick UK language/tick warning/right arrow/Maps - tick right arrow (do not alter anything else or it will not work!/Choose voice - right arrow/choose units - right arrow/time - right arrow/skip tutorial/right arrow. The 8 digit postcode feature should then work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping