Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Destinator 6 TMC
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Destinator 6 TMC

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:48 pm    Post subject: Destinator 6 TMC Reply with quote

Does Destinator 6 TMC run on Classic FM? I am not getting any TMC alerts on my device. I have tried both automatic and manual search, and it does show name of channels, like 'Classic FM TMC Info' bot does not show any alerts. Can anyone help me in this regard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't anyone help me on this Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 2:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Destinator 6 TMC Reply with quote

ysurya wrote:
Does Destinator 6 TMC run on Classic FM?
No - Destinator have a license with Trafficmaster, so it will use any TMC radio station except Classic FM, which is used by iTIS Holdings.

Sorry, I can't help with your particular problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried Power FM in Southampton. It shows 'Power FM RAC Live' but no traffic alerts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beep
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Central Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ysurya wrote:
I tried Power FM in Southampton. It shows 'Power FM RAC Live' but no traffic alerts.


And I've been trying XFM in Scotland with exactly the same result for a number of weeks, Destinator tell me my system is working!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have got the following response from the Destinator support team:

"As we mentioned in our call some minutes ago - in UK only "pay-TMC" is available. Probably it could be possible to contact the reseller of D6 you have bought some few days ago - and ask them for, hm something, let's say " a deal" . It is necessary to have the whole system d6-with-Traffic-Sam for beeing able to use TMC ( in UK) . The reseller should be able to change the system! The system that contains TrafficSam is a little bit more expensive because a compensation fee for UK, France, and Germany is concluded.

In about 4 weeks it will be possible to get an additional modul (about 99 euros) that enables the basic-destinator 6 to receive and consider TMC information."

I will try TrafficSam and see if it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Received my new Destinator 6 & TrafficSam today. TMC works well now. Clap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bwfc0907
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 02, 2006
Posts: 27
Location: Bolton, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I ask where you got your copy which includes traffic sam.

Do you need anything additional to operate the traffic on a PDA?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, I've got it from a german firm GPS HAUS

http://www.gps-haus.de/Navigationssoftware/Destinator/Destinator-6-inkl-TrafficSam::4012.html

They are very quick and my trafficsam was arrived in just 2 days.

(Try http://www.google.com/translate_t to translate this webpage)


You would need a TMC receiver to use trafficsam on your PDA - I use GNS 5843 GPS & TMC receiver.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bwfc0907
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 02, 2006
Posts: 27
Location: Bolton, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would the ASUS A636N still need a Traffic Receiver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has an integrated GPS, but is not TMC enabled. You will need a TMC receiver to run trafficsam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bwfc0907
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 02, 2006
Posts: 27
Location: Bolton, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you suggest just a tmc receiver to get me started looking please, without GPS as this is already included on the asus.

Got me thinking not much point having GPS built in to a PDA you may aswell buy it seperately. Does that make sense?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pc-Mobile
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 26/10/2002 10:38:36
Posts: 789
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bwfc0907 wrote:
Can you suggest just a tmc receiver to get me started looking please, without GPS as this is already included on the asus.

Got me thinking not much point having GPS built in to a PDA you may aswell buy it seperately. Does that make sense?

You can get an adapter from GNS.
I know they do not have one for Asus.
But they do have one for Fujitsu N5xx series which should work with Asus as they have practically the same hardware in that both USB and serial ports are the same.
But I cannot guarantee that it will work as I have no way of testing it and I am sure GNS will not be able to tell you either.
_________________
Pc-Mobile
http://pc-mobile.net/gps.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bwfc0907
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 02, 2006
Posts: 27
Location: Bolton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ysurya,

How are you finding the set up using TMC. ARe you receiving all the updates you'd expect?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping