Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - i-mate k-jam bt gps problems, please help!!!!
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

i-mate k-jam bt gps problems, please help!!!!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PDA/Smartphone Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
codswallop
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 3:08 pm    Post subject: i-mate k-jam bt gps problems, please help!!!! Reply with quote

I have bought an I-Mate K-Jam with this BT GPS receiver : http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/55HOUR-BLUETOOTH-GPS-RECEIVER-PDA-TOMTOM-SAT-NAV-NOKIA_W0QQitemZ5858357143QQcategoryZ4668QQcmdZViewItem
Although I bought it with a Car cradle instead of the pack here, I cannot get it to pair with my I-mate via BT. I am running TomTom Nav 5 and my i-mate has WM5 installed. TomTom works fine now I have updated it for WM5 but I cannot get the ports to match. My I-mate will only let me choose from two ports (6 and 7)and tomtom says : COM9 : infrared port COM3: (NOTHING) COM0: (NOTHING) COM2: serial port.

There is no mention of ports 6/7 at all in tomtom and I can't find a way of changing them because when I click on any of them it returns to the GPS status screen!!

I managed to pair the receiver with my Nokia 6680 but thats not what I bought it for.

Please can anyone give me some advice ASAP please because I'm travelling away on Thursday 3rd March and wanted to be up and running for then?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have the same hardware but this works for my Exec (WM2005 with a BT GPS)
In Bluetooth devices tab select New Partnership.
When it finds your GPS unit select it and press Next.
Enter passKey code if prompted, then press Next
Select Serial Port check box, then Finish.
Go to the Com Ports tab, Select New Outgoing Port.
Select the GPS unit from the list and press Next.
Select the Com port from the Dropdown box (Com0). Press Finish.
Run up TomTom and configure the GPS, "Other Bluetooth GPS", select Com0 (you might need to use the up/down arrows to find it) then Done.
Cheers - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install TTN5.2 update. You will then have com 6 as an option in the TTN config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codswallop
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tried what you said Mike but there is no com 0, only 6/7 and these are the only ones I ever get and like I said TT doesn't let me change anything!!!

Help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alix776
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 03/05/2003 14:45:49
Posts: 3999
Location: leyland lancs ENGLAND

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike is talking about stting the com port in the bluetooth manager not in the tomtom application
_________________
currently using aponia truck navigation on windows phone. Good bye IOS don't let the door hit you on the way out .

Oh the joys of being a courier.
device Lumia 950 xl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alix776 wrote:
mike is talking about stting the com port in the bluetooth manager not in the tomtom application


Which only show com 6 and 7 on the Kjam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alix776
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 03/05/2003 14:45:49
Posts: 3999
Location: leyland lancs ENGLAND

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats strange it should show a few comports might have to get opne to play with
_________________
currently using aponia truck navigation on windows phone. Good bye IOS don't let the door hit you on the way out .

Oh the joys of being a courier.
device Lumia 950 xl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
codswallop
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah the k-jam only shows com ports 6/7 so i have reset it to factory defaults as I read somewhere that other things could be taking up the ports, but it then still only shows 6/7. The problem is obviously in the pairing of k-jam and bt gps. Incidentally the bt gps receiver is discovered by the k-jam but once you go through the setup procedure and finish it has a question mark next to 'BT GPS'.

Also I have updated tomtom but that makes no difference.

I just wanna get this sorted cos there's nothing worse than getting new gear and not being able to use it.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try switching TomTom on WITHOUT first enabling the Bluetooth, TT should switch it on by itself and then you should find the Com port 6 within TT, not too sure if this will work but had a read elsewhere and that seems to be the general thoughts for this device - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

codswallop wrote:
Yeah the k-jam only shows com ports 6/7 so i have reset it to factory defaults as I read somewhere that other things could be taking up the ports, but it then still only shows 6/7. The problem is obviously in the pairing of k-jam and bt gps. Incidentally the bt gps receiver is discovered by the k-jam but once you go through the setup procedure and finish it has a question mark next to 'BT GPS'.

Also I have updated tomtom but that makes no difference.

I just wanna get this sorted cos there's nothing worse than getting new gear and not being able to use it.

Thanks



The question mark to the left of "BT GPS" is normal on the Kjam.
Have you also set "New Outgoing Port" to Com 6?
If you have updated to TTN5.2 then you will be able to select Com 6 in the GPS config under "other bt GPS".

You MUST use TTN5.2 with your Kjam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codswallop
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:01 am    Post subject: re : mullet Reply with quote

do you have a k-jam and if you do, what ports does yours display?
Is there anyone here who could say what ports it shows on theirs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:14 pm    Post subject: Re: re : mullet Reply with quote

codswallop wrote:
do you have a k-jam and if you do, what ports does yours display?
Is there anyone here who could say what ports it shows on theirs?


Yes! 6 and 7 as already stated. Many are using the Kjam. The device is not the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codswallop
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what do you think the issue is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

codswallop wrote:
So what do you think the issue is?


To clarify.
This device will only ever offer com 6 or com 7.
TTN5 will not offer either.
TTN5.2 will offer com 6.
Therefore TTN5.2 MUST be used and the outgoing port set to com 6 with this device.

1. Have you cafefully followed the steps mikealder posted (NOTE SET COM 6) ?

"In Bluetooth devices tab select New Partnership.
When it finds your GPS unit select it and press Next.
Enter passKey code if prompted, then press Next
Select Serial Port check box, then Finish.
Go to the Com Ports tab, Select New Outgoing Port.
Select the GPS unit from the list and press Next.
Select the Com port from the Dropdown box ***(COM6)***. Press Finish."

2. Have you installed the Tomtom Navigator Version 5.2 update ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codswallop
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 25, 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I have installed the update 5.2 which I downloaded from TomTom.
I started TTN and it didn't find any device, all it says is' Pair your PDA and GPS device, read your documentation for advice blah blah...'

It syas on the TTN com ports page that GPS is connected to com 9 : Infrared port. Then Com 3, Com 0 and Com 2 : Serial port.

TTN5.2 as updated will not offer me port 6.

TTN does seem to be turning Bluetooth off/on but like I said no ports.
Tried the steps that Mike suugested too but no luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PDA/Smartphone Discussion All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.052 (11 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping