Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Luxury Villa at Watersong Davenport, Orlando, Florida for rent
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom GO POI Speedcamera POI database
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom GO POI Speedcamera POI database
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To see the full name:
hold your finger on the screen rather than just tapping it (admitedly you now have to read round your finger!)

Why the names are like that:
Pocket GPS don't like to change the format of their download package (things like giving the folder the name of the month its released have been suggested before). As they say, the database isn't just for the TomTom system. (That's also why they still disribute the single file version etc)

Can you rename the files:
Yes, just remember to rename the associated .bmp files too, so they match.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nich
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 126
Location: cheshire

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once again thanks to all who contribute to this great site.
can anyone tell me why there are no 20 mile an hour warnings in the data base?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
rkm_hm
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 28, 2004
Posts: 532
Location: Warwick, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nich wrote:
Once again thanks to all who contribute to this great site.
can anyone tell me why there are no 20 mile an hour warnings in the data base?


There are some - albeit only a few in the latest version of the database. [I've just counted 7 Gatsos and 2 Mobiles].

Maybe some of the TBAs are actually 20, or maybe there aren't many cameras in 20mph zones.

If you're aware of any which are not included, please send them in for inclusion in the next version.
_________________
Roger
TomTom via135

Satmap Active 10+ v1.50 with full UK 1:50k map and 1:25k/1:10k County maps of Hampshire & Warwickshire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keefrto
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 128
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, down loaded the latest safety camera and when I checl locations on the map , I see question marks coming up. Is this the variable speed limits or???
cheers
keith
_________________
TTG300 with version 7.903. (9183/081205)OS:2344, GPS v1.21 Boot 4.8600
UK and Republic IRE MAPS v815.2024
UK and ROI with west europe major roads v675.1409
USA and Canada maps v840.2561
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not really. The supplied icon for the new variable category is a red circle with a star or asterix inside. The one with a question mark is for the "TBA" (to be announced) 2mobile TBA" and "Temp" cameras where the speed isn't known. Telling PocketGPS about them should reduce the number of those eventually.

(Of course you can have whatever icon you like for any poi category, just by saving a .bmp of the right size and colour depth with exactly the same name as the .ov2 POI file).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keefrto
Lifetime Member


Joined: May 09, 2005
Posts: 128
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha, that's cool. Thats great for the info
cheers
Keith
_________________
TTG300 with version 7.903. (9183/081205)OS:2344, GPS v1.21 Boot 4.8600
UK and Republic IRE MAPS v815.2024
UK and ROI with west europe major roads v675.1409
USA and Canada maps v840.2561
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Memphisuklf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 05, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bought a tomtom 300 yesterday and stumbled across this site. I downloaded the speed camera files and installed them on my 128mb sd memory card. As i was transferring the six ov2 and six bmp files, my computer frozen and memory card became corrupt. I think this was due to the memory card not having a lot of spare memory when purchased. Just wanted to know if theres anyway of getting these files without purchasing a larger memory card. Is there files on the memory card which i could delete maybe?

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rkm_hm
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 28, 2004
Posts: 532
Location: Warwick, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Memphisuklf wrote:
Bought a tomtom 300 yesterday and stumbled across this site. I downloaded the speed camera files and installed them on my 128mb sd memory card. As i was transferring the six ov2 and six bmp files, my computer frozen and memory card became corrupt. I think this was due to the memory card not having a lot of spare memory when purchased. Just wanted to know if theres anyway of getting these files without purchasing a larger memory card. Is there files on the memory card which i could delete maybe?

Thanks in advance


You can create some space by deleting all of the foreign voice files - just keeping 'English Jane'.

When you say that the memory card became corrupt, is your GO currently useable?
_________________
Roger
TomTom via135

Satmap Active 10+ v1.50 with full UK 1:50k map and 1:25k/1:10k County maps of Hampshire & Warwickshire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Memphisuklf
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 05, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes it was. I took it back to comet and got a replacement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vincenzo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 31, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sittng comfortably, glass in hand, ready for a laugh.

Here goes.

I recently purchased a Nissan sporty thing and took up the option of an expensive hands-free phone kit. 2 buttons on the steering wheel, one answers/hangs-up the phone, the other launches the voice activation kit. Unfortunately Nissan can't be bothered to update the hardware, so this kit can only be used with obsolete phones.

I hoped to get around this by buying a Nokia Bluetooth jobby which had the same kind of connections, but although it works sometimes, it usually just acts as an expensive charger and can't 'see' the phone. Then I bought TomTom Go 700, problem solved, Bluetooth hands-free connection and also installed SpeedCam POI with Voice option.

So, driving along a stretch of the A10 with a few cameras on it, the phone rings so I pushed the steering wheel button instinctively, the WRONG one. Whoops, and quickly touched the TT700 screen to answer the phone. At this point I approached a Gatso, <<Bing>>Gatso says the TT700, Pardon? says the phone kit, What? says the caller, Pardon says the kit, Turn left 300 yards says TT700, Who? says the caller, Pardon? says the kit again, Turn left says the TT700, OH! Bollo*** says the caller, Pardon says Kit. (Was it going to call me Michael?)

Well, this went on for truly a minute and I hadn't said a word, not a sausage.

The moral of this story is -- WALK MORE OFTEN!! Wink Wink

As an extra though, can anyone tell me where I can get the Dutch speed camera database as OV2 and BMP files, know I've seen them somewhere.

Cheers, Pete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blend69
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 11, 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just bought a 700. It is already using V5 software. I cannot find a single map folder for the POI download.. does anyone know the file name exactly where i copy the speed camera files? The only file I can see which looks like a map database is a western european file.
Any help appreciated (sorry I am new to the forum, so if the answer is already here... if you could point me to it Smile )
Jon
London East
_________________
Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10607
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's exactly the one you want. I don't know the full name, but it's the only Map Folder you have.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Europe v 1055.10439
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
qubixcat
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 22, 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blend69 wrote:
I have just bought a 700. It is already using V5 software. I cannot find a single map folder for the POI download.. does anyone know the file name exactly where i copy the speed camera files? The only file I can see which looks like a map database is a western european file.
Any help appreciated (sorry I am new to the forum, so if the answer is already here... if you could point me to it Smile )
Jon
London East


The map (and other files) are in a folder named "Western_Europe-Map" in the root directory of the TTG 700.

Cheers
Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
blend69
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 11, 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all.. it works perfectly.
_________________
Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
archive
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 18, 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 2:00 am    Post subject: TT1 and No valid gps signal Reply with quote

Hi All

I hope someone might help me I have just downloaded and installed the POI speed camera (sorry, safety camera)software. I have got the menu screen but when i drill down to it, it stays on for about 10 second and then goes back to the main map with an error message of "No Valid GPS signal"


I have a TomTom One with version 5.420.

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 9 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
18.094 (23 Sep 20)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping