Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Should I use OSGB or BNG
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Should I use OSGB or BNG

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
windyn
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:58 pm    Post subject: Should I use OSGB or BNG Reply with quote

Hi All

Newbie here - I am wondering which setting to use for GPS on the Active 10.

I have a copy of Discovery Walking Guides Lake District (North and South) and in their GPS setup advice they say:

"check that your gps is set to the OSGB datum and BNG 'location/position format'"

On the Active 10 there it seems you can set to either OSGB or BNG.

Please could someone advise what setup I should use?

Thanks
lightshipman
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should set your Satmap to OSGB, you get the same result with BNG (British National Grid), the co-ordinates are the same but with an extra prefix which just confuses the matter. OSGB is also the commonly used format. I used to carry out a lot of Marine Hydrographic surveys in my previous employment, and know all about positioning, so keep it simple. I asssume that the OSGB on the Satmap is OSGB36 datum, which dates back to 1936.
Nowadays most GPS systems work on WGS 84 which is the latest International standard, so you will find that your Lat Long positions may not be exact, but it is only 0.08 S 0.03 E out so not really a great deal for our puposes. OSGB mapping is in OSGB36 Datum, so stick to that datum on yor Satmap.
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote